PDA

View Full Version : Would doing a Masters in Computer Animation & Digital Special Effects be beneficial?

jess2590
03-03-2010, 07:31 PM
Hi,
I'm currently studying Computer Animation & Digital Special Effects at undergraduate level. I've recently been looking for a placement year (which i have since decided not to take) and have found it very difficult to find any companies with employment opportunities for internships/graduate students and so began to think about a masters degree to further my study, knowledge and skills in my chosen area.
I really enjoy the Film editing/special effects side of my course as well as the 3D character modeling and animation and I was wondering if anyone knew of how worthwhile a Master's Degree in this area would be. I really dislike the programming aspects, i have found it very difficult to grasp any knowledge in computer programming, I am much more of an Art/Design person. Obviously i understand you can only get out what you put in, i am willing to do this, i am just concerned about the financial strain and if it is worth it to further my future career possibilities.

Would anyone also be able to advise me of the best Universities for this course, to look into. I've read a lot about Animation courses at Bournemouth which seem to have many fantastic reviews.

I am also very interested in studying in America, does anyone know if this would be more/less beneficial and which Universities there i should be looking into?

I would really appreciate any help/opinions that can be given. Many thanks.
Jessica.

Ibeechu
03-03-2010, 11:28 PM