PDA

View Full Version : Masters in 3d games modelling

coachsta
02-27-2010, 08:24 PM
Hey

I am a 3rd year university student studying Bsc Computer Games Design in the UK and am looking to do a masters, ideally i would like to study in the USA but have little knowledge of the better colleges/universities for this, having tried to search for the course myself and being miserably unsuccessful :( i was hoping someone with any knowledge could enlighten me :D

Thanks

Rob

danshewan
02-27-2010, 10:08 PM
First of all, I'd be amazed if any reputable educational establishment anywhere would even offer a Master's in modeling for games. The very idea of such a thing is pretty ridiculous, if you think about it.

Second of all, even if you did find such a course, odds are that any studio in America could find sufficiently capable domestic talent, severely reducing your chances of finding a job at an American studio after you graduate. I'm sure someone, somewhere, got a job offer from outside the United States without any experience, but that guy is probably the only one and it probably didn't happen recently, given the economic climate and the current state of the game development industry.

Questions like this pop up from time to time, and they always come off the same way - British / European student wants to either stay in education because they're scared of trying to find a job, or they think that merely studying in the United States is a way 'in' to working there, which isn't often the case, given the intricacies of US immigration policy and the sheer number of talented, experienced artists already in America looking for work.