PDA

View Full Version : Lost his way

Urb4nNinj4
02-20-2010, 10:29 PM
Hey everyone. I'm new, clearly. My name's Brian, and I've been into video games pretty much since I exited the womb :D. I chose to pursue Game Design as a career path, few other choices make sense to me. I've been attending a community college for almost 3 years now and barely done anything I think in my way of achieving my goal save a CAD class, a few assorted computer classes, and am currently enrolled in a brand new 3DS Max class. I love the class, but I don't think where I am now is going to get me anywhere. Someone suggested going to an technical university or something, but I don't know where to start. Where would I go to accomplish this dream? What are employers in the video game design area looking for? What am I up against? I don't want to be stuck on this dead end track forever, and I figure a community of established and up and coming people in this field could point me in the right direction.

leigh
02-21-2010, 10:48 PM
Employers are looking for kickass work. It's that simple. What you're up against are other people with the same skills, dedication and goal that you have. So you need to really push yourself to stand out from the crowd.

Depending on what kind of person you are, you could go to another college or university and study, or you could learn on your own. Some people work and learn better in classes, others learn better on their own. One isn't better than the other, they're just different approaches. If you can afford it, and you feel you'd learn better in an academic environment, then explore the options that are available in terms of courses - I'm sure you'll find plenty of info on various institutions in your country on this site.

Urb4nNinj4
02-22-2010, 07:30 PM
So it's not so much like every other career where a degree is pretty much what gets you in, they actually look at what you can do hm?