PDA

View Full Version : Are most game guys self taught?

Dave Hackett
05-21-2002, 05:06 PM
It seems to me that allot of the people I talk to just teach this stuff to themselves, is that the norm? There isn't allot of game schools that I know of that are close or affordable.
Dave

amusedtoe
05-24-2002, 09:21 PM
well if my knowledge serves my right which it could not is that alot of the artists acctually go to art school and through love of games and stuff or jus dumb luck end up in the games industry. at least thats what ive always heard :)
-peace

sean_G
05-25-2002, 10:28 PM
DIGIPEN, in seattle washington. its a school pretty much devoted to the technical and artistic development of video games. but it is held in very high regaurd by MIT so its a real deal academy... check it out

Dave Hackett
05-25-2002, 10:43 PM
Sorry Digipen, your out of my price range. While this may be acceptable for some, those prices are not for me. Lot's of guys I know got in being self taught. That's the way I'll do it. I'll be able to eat as well....
Dave
Thanks Sean for the lead though.

J.Peckham
05-26-2002, 09:10 PM
i think no matter if you get into a 3d major or not you end up teaching yourself anyway. schools are basically a shove in the right direction. i've never done anything in school i couldn't have done in a tutorial (most lessons are tutorials out of some book)

l_farley13_l
05-26-2002, 09:46 PM
I do think there's a difference, the structure and environment gives pressure from fellow students, Profs and deadlines echos that of the Gaming World. It forces you to get good quickly and get the fundimentals as well. I think that's the true reason Challenges work so well.

see you,

Farley13

Dave Hackett
05-26-2002, 10:40 PM