PDA

View Full Version : is this normal?

vicmonty
02-12-2010, 05:00 PM
I have been in this study mode lately. Every chance I get I'm either reading, viewing instructional videos or drawing and applying what I've learned. Last night I tried to break from that. I had my sketchbook and just like always, I had nothing to draw. Before I started studying the figure, I really had no direction. Even in my own personal "free" drawing. My mind was directed into all these different things to explore. So I decided to pick one path. I chose anatomy. Last night I decided to just draw whatever. I tried to draw, but I couldn't come up with anything to draw. I guess I'm not at the point where I can't draw without reference yet. Is my mine too focused on studying. Here's my question. Is it normal to be so focused on one area of study? Maybe it depends on each person? Perhaps that's the way that works best for me? I see artist who go from one thing to another in their studies. Maybe I'm the type that needs to take on one challenge at a time with all my energy? To mix things up, I figured I'll work on one of the monthly contest that are going on on the various art sites. This gives me opportunity to work on the other foundations of art. Still, I've turned the my current entry into a figure study. I took Lunatiques advice and I'm also using that figure to practice my painting.