PDA

View Full Version : How to build a Polygon mountain??


Pixeland-Greco
08-31-2003, 12:45 PM
I got a project .That's to make a realistically mountain. Did anyone could tell me,how to use a short cut to make it. I try worldbuilder and Bryce 5.But those software have the same shortage, that's when the camera colse it,the modle dosen't have much more detail .Now I'm using maya.Did anyone tell me some good idea the make it??THANKS.

Rabid pitbull
09-10-2003, 06:48 PM
aren't there displacement maps in maya? In lightwave you would use displacement mapping on a subdivided groundplane, freeze and add details as needed. Would try to add detail with textures as much as possible to save on poly count which will already be high.


probobly many techniques to accomplish this, also having a specific model for closeup camera work is probrobly also a good idea.

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 01:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.