PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7, Aero, DX9 and 3ds max 2010


Mahlon
02-10-2010, 08:31 PM
Just curious if anyone is able to use Windows Aero while in 3ds max 2010 (directx 9) without viewport navigation being jerky? Particularly rotating in perspective view is jerky with only medium sized models (< 100,000 polys).

Right now, with Aero and dx9, it seems like the cached 3d mesh can't catch up to the rotation of the viewport. If I switch to OpenGL, everything is totally fine -- no stuttering or jerkiness.

If I switch off Aero and use a basic theme, the viewport and model rotate just fine in dx9.

Just wondering if anyone else has these problems. I'm using the newest nvidia driver on a 9800GTX.

Thanks for you input.

Mahlon

darthviper107
02-10-2010, 10:17 PM
Maybe, using Win7 DX9 with Aero enabled mine gets a bit jerky for a couple seconds and then moves really smooth, but I haven't tried it without Aero. Using GTX 285

Mahlon
02-11-2010, 01:10 AM
Yeah, same here. It's really jerky for a few seconds. Then it's smooth for a few seconds. Then back to jerky.

Thanks,
Mahlon

captain brainiac
02-11-2010, 10:46 AM
IS there a reason why you are using DX9 ? I use 3dsmax2010 with windows 7 and dx11 installed and it works liks a charm. :)

Problem could be more that your graphics adapter is not dx11 compatible. So go buy a new one!
i have a ATI 5850 and it runs like hell! Should be availabe for 300 bucks.

I wouldn't let run a 4000 k $ app on a 100 $ Gpu. It works, but like you found yourself ... it gets jerky!

Mahlon
02-11-2010, 07:47 PM
The only options I have are to use dx9 or dx10. Don't think that nvidia cards support dx11 yet -- at least I don't see it as an option and not listed in specs.

A 9800GTX should be perfectly capable of running these scenes in max 2010 without problems at all, though. It wasn't always a $130 card.:)
My 7600 was running the same scenes just fine.

You're able to run dx11 and max 2010? Is max supporting dx11 now?

Thanks,
Mahlon

captain brainiac
02-11-2010, 07:59 PM
You're able to run dx11 and max 2010? Is max supporting dx11 now?

Yes max runs perfectly under dx11 but it doesn't use it's new features. To my knowledge all DX versions are down compatible, so DX11 support 10 and 9.

And you are right... there are no dx11 nvidia cards available right now! That's why i bought a ATI card.

Mahlon
02-11-2010, 08:05 PM
Ahh, I ok. That makes sense. Will test an ATI and see how it runs.

Thanks,
Mahlon

thatoneguy
02-12-2010, 05:46 PM
Yes max runs perfectly under dx11 but it doesn't use it's new features. To my knowledge all DX versions are down compatible, so DX11 support 10 and 9.

And you are right... there are no dx11 nvidia cards available right now! That's why i bought a ATI card.
Just so we're clear you can *have* DX11 installed but not be using it.

What the OP is talking about is the viewport option in the max viewport configuration. Which is only DX9 or DX10. You're just talking about having DX11 installed right? That's completely different.

DX10 viewports are extremely buggy in max and even the developers recommend against using it.

captain brainiac
02-12-2010, 08:43 PM
Just checked, to make sure i am talking no "bs" right here.
When you install WIndows 7, DX 11 is installed by default.
3dsmax lets me choose DX 9 or DX10 viewports.
Because i didn't knew any better , i had the default setting direct 9 and DX9.
A few weeks ago i tested a bit with DX 10, but couldn't tell any difference.

To keep it short. i have dx11 installed and use directx9 viewports.
DX10 viewports are extremely buggy in max and even the developers recommend against using it.
Were did you read this?

thatoneguy
02-12-2010, 11:06 PM
Were did you read this?

Just google Ken Pimentel DX10. :D


http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/ken/3ds_max_design_2010_and_unsupported_hw_configs/comments?pg=3&

" Couple things to test, use DX10 (should be faster wireframe - but you'll lose most of our cool features)"
- Ken

"buy a DX10 graphics board (nvidia has support for unlimited instruction set - not sure if ATI has shipped anything that fixes this problem) and use the DX9 driver. Don't use the DX10 drivers as they seem a little raw still (plus our optimizations are only in DX9 right now)."
- Ken

"Max is not supported under directx 10." (Although I'm not sure that that's not actually true.)
- Chris Johnson

captain brainiac
02-12-2010, 11:38 PM
Hmmm... strange.... i wonder if they jump directly from DX9 to DX 11. I don't know a lot of people using vista (dx10)... so it would make sense. :curious:

CGTalk Moderation
02-12-2010, 11:38 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.