PDA

View Full Version : SMC 35 (2-9 to 2-16)


MSus
02-09-2010, 12:11 PM
- The speed modelling challenges are open to everybody. If you're registered on the forums you can participate.
- Every week you get a list of items. Pick at least one and try to model it as fast as possible. If you want, you can do all of them.
- Do not exceed the time limit of the challenge. If you're out of time and still haven't finished, post the unfinished model. Speed is key!
- Focus on modelling. Shading, lightning and "proper" rendering are optional (and thus not limited by time).
- Take as much time for reference hunting as you need.
- When posting your model make sure you post a wireframe of your model. (try to do more then one view of the model).
- You can do any challenge you want. The challenges are not closed when the week passes. If you fancy an older challenge, do that.
- For the concept items you have to create your own designs. If possible post the design images as well.

Basic items (2h time limit)
- handcuffs,
- a TV remote,
- an octopus
- a bumper car,
- a human hand.

Concept items (3h time limit)
- creature : any (but it needs to have more then 8 limbs),
- vehicle : underground (has to move underground)
- weapon : shoulder mounted (any type, the only restriction is that it has to be mounted on a persons shoulder).

Digitool
02-10-2010, 01:28 AM
I don't know if I've thanked you, MSus for taking care of the challenges since I had to stop devotimg my time to it... You're doing a great job. I'm on my mobil right now but I'm going to try to find time when I get home to work on a challenge...

kingku
02-10-2010, 05:41 AM
Hi there, I decided to try the TV Remote. It took 1 hr.

http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/3950/remotewire60min.jpg

http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/4177/remote60min.jpg

I really wanted to figure out how to get the tiny indentations in the base remote, that move around the buttons, but I just couldn't figure out how. I'm not very good at hard surface (which I guess this is?) modeling, but have more practice with architecture. Can anyone give me a tip on how to create this these tiny indentations which are floating in the middle of the mesh? I've heard something about floating geometry but I don't really know if that's what I need to learn here. :)

Here is what I'm talking about by the way:
http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/2005/remoteur.jpg

HCGremlin
02-10-2010, 07:26 AM
Total time 1 hr 6 minutes

http://www.shonmitchell.com/images/octopus.jpg

wasn't liking the way this one was going, and tired to boot, rage quit at little past an hour >:\
Lesson Learned : Safe Search ON when google image searching tentacles

Dengarde
02-10-2010, 09:39 AM
I really wanted to figure out how to get the tiny indentations in the base remote, that move around the buttons, but I just couldn't figure out how. I'm not very good at hard surface (which I guess this is?) modeling, but have more practice with architecture. Can anyone give me a tip on how to create this these tiny indentations which are floating in the middle of the mesh? I've heard something about floating geometry but I don't really know if that's what I need to learn here. :)


Hey guys, long time lurker, first time poster. I'll be trying this later this week ;)

Anyways, King, I had the same problem when I modeled an SNES Controller (http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll72/Dengarde/ControlerRender1.jpg) for a class a little less then a year ago. If the buttons were all circles or squares, you could easily model them in, but in your case I would probably go for bump mapping. You just need to make the bumps a few pixels larger then the actual buttons.

The results aren't as good, but that may be your best bet.

Keilious
02-10-2010, 10:14 AM
Octopus, 90 minutes! :D
http://www.alexanderocias.com/filedump/octopuswire.jpg
http://www.alexanderocias.com/filedump/octopus.jpg

MSus
02-10-2010, 03:36 PM
@Digitool

No problemo :) I'm glad that you're pleased with the direction of the SMCs

@kingku

Check this link out. It shows the "idea" behind floating geometry and baking normal maps. Hope it helps.

http://beere.deviantart.com/art/Floating-Geometry-128831211



Those are very realistic octopuses. That inspired me just enough to start doodling in Zbrush again :) Thanks

costinus
02-10-2010, 06:20 PM
my octopus created in zbrush very quickly because I am very buzy this days
30 minutes (no too many details)

http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/2708/octupus.jpg

Denis3D
02-10-2010, 09:29 PM
This is my handcuffs :)
Modeling time; 15min

render
http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/5176/rendx.jpg (http://img707.imageshack.us/i/rendx.jpg/)
wire
http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/225/wirem.jpg (http://img707.imageshack.us/i/wirem.jpg/)

and clay redner :)
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/2667/clayc.jpg (http://img709.imageshack.us/i/clayc.jpg/)

Dengarde
02-11-2010, 12:43 AM
King, Disregard my last comment. Msus's suggestion works MUCH better. (Although I'm not sure how much Geometry would be involved with that)

Anyways, I tried the handcuffs. Modeling took me about an hour for one cuff. Rigged and skinned it in 20 minutes. (Although there are some rigging issues I need to figure out)

Render (No texture)
http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll72/Dengarde/HandcuffChallenge.jpg

Wire (Unsmoothed)
http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll72/Dengarde/HandcuffChallengeWire.jpg

ankheilw
02-11-2010, 02:47 PM
Hey guys, looking good and it's great to see a few new posters this time around.

Kingku, you could try to create a texture map that has a height (bump) or normal map to created those recess ridges around the outside of the buttons, as Dengarde suggested, but that seems a little tedious and might be problematic if you want to change the button configuration.

Your best "modeling" bet would be to duplicate the buttons themselves, merge the geometry, offset the faces a slight bit and then do a boolean with the body of the remote. If your geo is set up correctly, you can bevel the resulting holes or use a normal map to soften the edges.

I hope that helps. The remote looks really good. Keep up the hard work everyone. Hopefully, I can squeak one in at the last minute for this challenge.

HCGremlin
02-11-2010, 04:12 PM
for buttons i usually create the buttons first and use them as guides for their insets. pipe shoving them thru the plane doesn't give you the necessary highlights that the rim or countersink along the inset supply. here's a quick little demo of what I'm talking about:

http://www.shonmitchell.com/Downloads/buttons.mp4

Since you are cutting into the plane with this method, its good for creating modular pieces so you can reuse insets, maintains quadflow and edgeflow so you can add quick clean bevels, and supplies ample unform geo so that you can run the edges out along the perimeter of your plate to get a solid curve on the outside of your remote

hope that helps

ankheilw
02-11-2010, 04:42 PM
Amazing video Gremlin.

That is a great workflow and looks like it gives you excellent resulting geometry. Thanks for the video!

HCGremlin
02-11-2010, 06:51 PM
no probs, but now I got the overwhelming urge to model a remote...maybe during lunch break

MSus
02-11-2010, 08:30 PM
Fired up Zbrush, it's been ages since I last used it. It's a pity. This was a quick doodle, about 30 minutes, as I am a bit short on time.


http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/6656/squidy.jpg


http://yfrog.com/0ssquidyj

kingku
02-11-2010, 10:35 PM
Thank you all so much for your suggestions! I have been wondering how to make those types of holes for so long, and now I have 3-4 different ways of doing it!

Not only did I get several replies in this thread, I also got a couple PMs as well with regard to my question, so thank you all! :beer:

Also, just as a little test, I tried out the boolean method and I got my holes in a matter of minutes... If I spent 5 minutes more, I could have created a bevel to the holes too!
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/1627/remotebooleans.jpg

Dengarde
02-11-2010, 11:21 PM
Glad it worked out for you, Kingku ;) Although I would have avoided booleans altogether. In my experience it tends to screw up the geometry to the point where it's pretty close to impossible to edit further.

Also, thanks for the Video, Gremlin, I'm using Max rather then Maya at the moment but I assume the same principals apply? Incredibly helpful either way.

Digitool
02-12-2010, 06:06 AM
I'm not sure if it was covered already but I usually place stuff like buttons (at least geometry with the shape) and then model making my geometry of the base have loops around the holes, then just extrude your faces down and place your finished buttons in the holes later.

It helps keep from using booleans, and I think its easier if you take care of things like that sooner than waiting until you have a bunch of mesh already there.

HCGremlin
02-12-2010, 10:23 AM
Went to the 2 hour mark on this one, then went back and did a quick unwrap and texture.
Does anyone know how to setup a decent render to showcase objects in maya-mental ray. Renderings by far my weakest skill and would love to find out how to get this thing to render out nice. I use Vray and modo rendering for most my stuff but am kinda tired of having to switch programs just to make a studio shot, so if anyone can point me in some good directions it'd be much appreciated.

http://www.shonmitchell.com/images/Remote.jpg

ankheilw
02-13-2010, 04:34 AM
Great work Gremlin. Excellent topology and great detail. It looks like you put all of those 2 hours in:)

One note, for what it's worth, I think a few of you guys are giving Booleans a bad wrap. They are probably not the first choice, but, if done correctly they work extremely well and give you a very fast solution for complex problems.

True, if you just slap them together, they create a mess, but a lot of the principles that Gremlin applied in his video can be used in Booleans as well. There are lots of tools for the job:)

Thanks for the great work this round guys. Getting inspired just checking the post every day.

MSus
02-13-2010, 03:20 PM
@HCGremlin

Which screen capturing application do you use? I tried fraps and it doesn't work :( I do my quick "showcase" renders with mental ray and 2-3 lights and a HDRI. It's easy to set up and it gives pretty good results. Will post a short video tutorial on it once I found a good capturing app.

May I ask how big the texture is?

HCGremlin
02-13-2010, 04:47 PM
I use Camtasia Studio 6, great capturing software with minimum slowdown to my machine

the buttons are on a 1k texture map while the rest is on a 1 X 6 k map

HCGremlin
02-14-2010, 11:04 PM
46 Min
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_wgIQYeyNIk0/S3iK7nwrDiI/AAAAAAAAAH8/g3blWew-rns/s1600-h/render.JPG

http://www.shonmitchell.com/images/HandCuffScreens.jpg

MSus
02-15-2010, 12:57 PM
Okey, I realised after a day or two of trying, that my tutorial making skills are horrible, so I've given up on making one (for now at least). But I did found a tutorial that thought me how to light scenes. It's for Maya 2009 but it works just as good in 2010.

Here's the link.

http://www.sohipitmhz.com/tutorials/studio-lighting/

HCGremlin
02-15-2010, 03:08 PM
thanks for the link MSus! no worries about doing a tutorial, truth be told I generally don't like tutorials, I've always preferred just watching the work be done and let my own feeble monkey brain pick apart whats actually going on, helps improve intuitive skills and all that sciency stuff :applause:

CGTalk Moderation
02-15-2010, 03:08 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.