PDA

View Full Version : First steps with Nuke

caro
02-06-2010, 06:01 AM
Hey guys :)

I'm extremely new to Nuke (literally was playing around with it for for no more than an hour and watched few hours of tutorials) but I'm very comfortable with node based systems (Maya's hypershade for example).

Probably as every newbie in Nuke I was trying to get a nice Bokeh effect :). So I got my Maya's render. To get nice Bokeh effect I though I'd use "Convlolve" node so I plugged the render to one of the inputs and a small image of a white circle on black background to another input and it gave me great result but the blur was the same across entire image. I recon if I plugged Zdepth pass as mask it would give me a bled between blurred version and the original one.

So I was wondering if I could control somehow the size of the Bokeh effect by my ZDepth. I realized that the blur gets smaller if the second input of Convolve node is smaller (the mentioned circle). That made me thinking that I could use a Transform node to control size of the circle. That would be multiplied by ZDepth so wherever Zdepth is dark it would scale down the circle. Anything below 1 on ZDepth would scale down the size of the circle, one would give original size, anything above one would scale it up. That's the way I'd approach similar problem in Maya's Hyperhsade.

The problem where I'm stuck is how do I plug anything to "scale" attribute of "Transform" node? Is that even possible?

Or perhaps I'm over thinking it and making it waaaay too complicated? Any suggestions are more than welcome!

Thanks so much for your help in advance!
Karol

thatoneguy
02-06-2010, 07:49 AM
Convolve can't be run on a per-pixel basis which is what you would need for a 3D DOF.

By the way the faster way to get bokeh is to just use the "Defocus" node. But like the convolve it's a uniform amount across the entire image.

There isn't a very good depth of field node built into Nuke. It's a definite blind spot in its toolset.