PDA

View Full Version : Ilenora's Sketchbook

Ilenora
02-04-2010, 01:18 AM
Hello there, and welcome to my Sketchbook :) Here I will be displaying various sketches, practise art, designs, concepts, etc. My updating will be sporadic, depending on what other projects I work on at the time. For now I will mostly be uploading style sketches - images that are done to try and get a certain unique style to my art.

I have been doing digital art since 2003 - up until mid 2006 this was all 3D art. Since 2006 I have been doing progressively more painted art.
Until just recently I've been jumping between different styles and techniques, ranging from attempts at photo realism, stylised realism and cartoony looks and plenty of different ways of painting it. I've finally decided to get a unique style and way of painting that is unique and one that I will be pleased with. I've only a faint idea of this style at the moment, so I will be doing various character portraits to see if the style is one I will enjoy.

Critique and comments on these pieces is very much encouraged - I would love to hear what you think and what I could improve! Further details will be given for the individual images :)

Regards
Ilenora

Ilenora
02-04-2010, 02:10 AM
Hi, here are a couple of sketches to start off.

http://www.serpentinemoon.com/eternitydreams/draylen-sketch.jpg

This first one is what I'm currently aiming for in style. My main inspiration is the style of characters in the movie, Arthur and the Invisibles. I used a screenshot of Arthur as reference and made it my character, Draylen. I combined the 'cute' look of the movie characters with my own take on a stylised look. I'm fairly pleased with it, though he looks too young, so I need to find a way to make him appear older (he's supposed to be about 18).