PDA

View Full Version : Andrew Loomis

vapsman88
02-03-2010, 07:37 AM
I have been fascinated with Andrew Loomis since my Grandmother gave me a copy of "Creative Illustration" for a High School graduation present way back when, she had it since 1955 (I still have it, btw). I also received "Figure Drawing for All its Worth" shortly after High School. I never really used them to full effect until recently as I am studying illustration full time now.

I found an interesting article on Mr. Loomis in a publication called "Illustration Magazine" that celebrates illustration and artists. It is sold out but the magazines website has an embedded e-reader to read the sold out issues. This article gives an insight to his life and artistic and publishing endeavors. Plus there is roughs and images of book dummies that are very cool.

http://www.illustration-magazine.com/latest20.html

John

Lunatique
02-04-2010, 02:43 PM
What a WONDERFUL article! So many interesting things in it that I never knew about. Loomis is not nearly as famous as some of the other classic illustrators of that era, so not much is written about him, and this article is by far the best I've ever seen. Lots of artwork I've never seen before too!

Thanks so much for sharing that link!

(I've actually always wanted to subscribe to that magazine, but since I don't live in the States anymore, I couldn't. Now being able to read them online makes the pain a bit less.) :)

EDIT: Oh man, I'm really in heaven now. All those beautiful high-resolution images of classic illustration, obviously photographed from original paintings, not old printed copies. The Haddon Sundblom ones are amazing--all never before seen images! Now I'm going to have to scour through every single issue!

Wait, Harry Anderson too! This is un-friggin'-believable!

vapsman88
02-04-2010, 05:59 PM