PDA

View Full Version : just thoughts on painting...

vicmonty
02-02-2010, 06:26 PM
I'm not a painter. I never have been. I started painting in Photoshop last year when I got an Intuous for Christmas. I realized, like Robert is always saying, that my problems and obstacles that I keep running into are due to a lack of foundational knowledge. Maybe I can learn about color and value and painting, to an extent, by doing it all in PS. Maybe I can't. I felt like I was missing an experience. I pulled out my Reeves acrylic set. 10 tubes or so and 3 brushes. I set up a still life. It was just a sugar dish under the normal light in my kitchen. I took my paintbrush and put it on my canvas and I swear my 3 and 2 year old kids have produced prettier pieces! Man! I stopped the still life. I took the brush and I just started exploring the brush strokes on my canvas. I have a lot to learn. For some reason I am drawn to traditional painting. I like that PS doesn't require all the mess of painting, but for that period in time I was practicing just the strokes, I was at a different place. I'm not even sure where to start. I brought a canvas pad. I thought that was cool. I have my acrylic set of 10 or so colors. I have a bunch of brushes that came in this pack but they didn't cost much so I'm not sure if they're good quality.