PDA

View Full Version : Z-distanges between 2d layers (AE)

halen
01-28-2010, 01:10 PM
Greetings. I'm new to this part of the forum, and this might be a noob question. I would like to make some small camera movement to the mattepainting, but how do you decide z-distanges between layers to make movement believable? (best way would probably to project on 3d geometry, but looking the quick, dirty and possibly easier way first...)

Is there some maths of tool or thumb rule how it should be done (using after effects)? Image here about what do I mean:

http://www.halen.org/releases/matte/camera.jpg
(http://www.halen.org/releases/matte/camera.jpg)

m|3
01-28-2010, 03:08 PM
To best determine Z-distance between objects depends on how much movement you want to see when the camera dollies. If you want the background objects to move forward faster then use less z-depth. Use more z-depth if you want the background objects to remain further away. Same rule for foreground objects.

Of course, you'll have to scale objects accordingly to regain your image's original composition before camera movement.

halen
01-28-2010, 06:32 PM
To best determine Z-distance between objects depends on how much movement you want to see when the camera dollies. If you want the background objects to move forward faster then use less z-depth. Use more z-depth if you want the background objects to remain further away. Same rule for foreground objects.

That was the problem. I really would like to know what is the "right" distance to get the movement look as real as possible. If using 30mm lens, how far should I set this rock or that bush or these mountains..? I could get some visual estimate and something that looks good by trial and error and guessing, but looking for some maths, rule, tool or something to avoid that. :D

halen
01-29-2010, 08:40 AM