PDA

View Full Version : how do you put a 2D character in 3D space?

razeverius
01-24-2010, 11:26 AM
Hi guys! I have a question. I'm a college student who's planning to do a 2D-3D mix up something like Prince of Egypt or Titan A.E. I've recently watched, Prince of Egypt the making, and well, they said they used something called exposure tool. I imagined it like some kind of poly plane, where your moving sketch is, and you can move the plane around a 3D environment, giving the feel of your drawing moving in 3D space. Hope I explained clearly. So, my question is basically what is that program or something similar to it. :) thanks a bunch for answers :D

frizDog
02-02-2010, 09:36 PM
I did 2d characters in a 3d environment for my thesis film back in school.
I basically rendered out the 2d animated character (+alpha) into an image sequence, and put them on planes in my 3d scene.

The only trick came to the final composite, If I wanted to render the 2d characters separate, I had to render out 2 passes for them: the color pass and an alpha pass. This is because their embeded alpha works for the shader so you do not see the card, but the alpha of the render shows the card, not the character's alpha)

I used a toon shader to render my 3d stuff and it turned out pretty cool.

hope that helps

sundialsvc4
02-03-2010, 12:49 AM
A "2D" character necessarily must occupy a plane in the 3D space.

Realistically, that plane is going to have to be perpendicular to the camera's POV at all times.

Therefore, you need to arrange things in such a way that you will be able to render two sets of 3D-generated outputs:
Everything which occurs behind the 2D-image plane. Everything which occurs in front of it.

In each of these two cases, as well as your 2D material, you will need to have at your disposal some method of knowing "what is image" and "what is not-image, i.e. transparent." This is known as the alpha channel (where A=1.0 indicates "opaque" and A=0.0 indicates "transparent")