PDA

View Full Version : Animation to Rig.


codyalday
01-22-2010, 02:43 AM
Quick question :P

I have a model skinned to a rig, and the rig has premade animations in different files of MAYA all seperate to the model, so its just the rig with animations. How can i import that animation to the rig that is skinned to my model??

Thanks in advanced.

codyalday
01-22-2010, 04:05 AM
comon :P 15 views, no replies lol.

KielFiggins
01-22-2010, 04:36 AM
1. Create a new scene
2. Reference in the rig with mesh (rig:)
3. Reference in the anim file (anim:)
4. copy the keys from the anim file controls to the rig file controls (this could be done via mel pretty easily)
5. remove the anim ref
6. repeat for each animation

codyalday
01-22-2010, 04:52 AM
Thanks for the reply:)

i am new to Maya though, could you put more description please :)

zres
01-23-2010, 03:26 PM
there's many ways to achieved that, you can also use the "animeimportexport" from maya,
> load that plugin from plugin manager.
>select the root/ground ctrl and then click export selection,
>go to the option box and then search for file types "animExport",
>scroll down to "file types specific option" change it to "below"
>then export it as .anim.
>Load your new rig select the ground ctrl then import that .anim file to your new rig.
I've usually use this method to export import the animation, but sometimes it may not working on some rigs. and if this is not working I use the other method just like KielFiggins says.
the other way is by using character setup and track editor, but I'm not familliar with this method. :p

codyalday
01-24-2010, 10:23 PM
Thanks heaps zres and KielFiggins, i got it working :) :)

CGTalk Moderation
01-24-2010, 10:23 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.