PDA

View Full Version : Digital matte: cosmic

SVMaerospace
08-27-2003, 09:57 PM
Hello, I'm new! My name is Stanley, I work for 140db studios in Chicago, and below is a digital matte painting for an animated sequence involving an interstellar spacecraft. I may animate the planet in Adobe After effects (some slow, behemoth-like planetary motion). It is for a demo reel I am working on, I'm pretty new to the 3d world, and I hope to continue posting here regularly.

It's photoshop 7 with a tablet:

http://svma.nigelhyde.com/assets/gallery/Bigmattespace.jpg

bigjko
08-27-2003, 10:58 PM
Wow, that's done in Photoshop?! Very nice!

Hope to see that animation some day! :D

ADiSH
08-27-2003, 11:07 PM
Amazing:drool:
im not sure if its to many stars or not;)

SVMaerospace
08-27-2003, 11:35 PM
Hee hee, you can never have too many stars :D

In fact, just for some cool image gawking, check out Hubble's star field photographs, Some of them are nothing but stars, not even nebula or anything, it looks like someone dumped sand onto a black canvas.

RavenLark
08-28-2003, 01:05 AM
I think there are a bit many stars in there. The light from the nebula is very bright, and theoretically would dim the stars around it.

If you're in the city, you know how the stars can't really be seen all that much at night due to the lights. If you're out in the country, you might have noticed how on a full moon, the stars around the moon can't be seen.

Just my 2 cents...

Garma
08-28-2003, 01:25 AM
agreed. way too much stars :shame:

the rest looks good :thumbsup:

bigbad
08-28-2003, 01:49 AM
Get rid of the awful white dots. Itīs ruining the picture.

Good luck with your demo reel.

starqueen
08-28-2003, 02:22 AM
Way too many stars and theyre too bright i think... the white circles? I don't know what those are... stars wouldnt have that large a variation in them unless it's the same galaxy's star/sun. They all look like tiny specs, hehe