PDA

View Full Version : Rigging problem

foggyball
01-20-2010, 11:06 AM
I'm hoping someone can help me out. I have very little experience of rigging and as a result I've come unstuck with this. It's fairly simple, the highlighted part rotates which causes the wheels to pivot. The problem I'm having is getting the axel to stay pinned to the ends and also orient correctly. The current setup is using constraints and I'm not sure if this is the best approach. Another thing is in the real model the wheels don't turn at the same angle by which I mean when the rig is in it's extreme left/right position, the left wheel will have a different angle to the right. In my setup this isn't true because the wheels are orient constrained, so they're identical.

Does anyone have any thoughts on how to fix this or a better approach.

Scene file attached is Maya2010 but can be opened in previous versions. Select the centre object and rotate to see the issue.

Thanks.

Dave

Darksuit
01-20-2010, 02:47 PM
This should all pivot correctly now. I didn't use a single constraint. It is mostly about Parenting and setting up your pivot locations correctly. I did have to guess on the wheels but if I am reading the diagram correctly this is how it should work.

foggyball
01-20-2010, 06:46 PM
Thanks very much. I wont get a chance to look at the scene until tomorrow but really appreciate your help.

Dave

Darksuit
01-20-2010, 07:26 PM
Again as I stated in the other post, is to understand and get the hierarchy correct. I typically use constraints to attach controllers from outside of the hierarchy. Once those things are done, then I can add in any expressions or nodes. Nodes or linked Attributes might be the way to do things here.

But understand and plan things out first. Otherwise you wind up fighting against the rig.

foggyball
01-21-2010, 10:39 AM
Darksuit,

I had a look at the file you uploaded, but unfortunately it's not quite how the real one works, I probably didn't explain clearly enough.