PDA

View Full Version : Your views on Masters degrees (UK)

Saxcore
01-17-2010, 09:21 PM
Hi there. I'm currently in my 3rd year at the NCCA in Bournemouth, and am now looking at my options. I'm aiming for a career in the VFX industry, and more specifically the 3D effects side of VFX. Because there are certain areas that I feel I'd like to work on before hitting the industry, I feel the MA Digital Effects course here would be perfect; there are a couple of factors putting me off, however, primarily amongst them is the cost. Being a Bournemouth graduate, I would get 15-20% off of the tuition costs of any post graduate course taken here, which is appealing. However, I'm not going to let dictate where I'm going to do my Masters (IF I take a Masters).

I was wondering where the best places are in the UK to look at taking a Masters degree? When I was applying for a degree, the best places in the UK were Teeside and Bournemouth. Is this the case for Masters? I've heard that in recent years, the playing field is levelling with regards to the best places to study in this field. I'd actually love the opportunity to be able to study in a different region/establishment for a year.

I was also wondering what everyone's views are on taking a Masters in general? I'm still undecided as to whether there would be much point in taking one at all; I feel that the three years I have spent here have been more than enough to point me in the right direction to do everything I want to do, thus I feel that any areas that I I'm lacking in, I at least know where to begin. Spending another year in education does sometimes sound like another year jumping through hoops! (Although I realise that a career isn't much different in that respect!)

What are everyone else's thoughts on the matter?

taxguy
01-17-2010, 10:52 PM