PDA

View Full Version : Bindpose Question

scarecrow
05-20-2002, 04:43 PM
Hey, y'all...

Okay - I'm not really much of a modeller myself (I'm an animator, actually) but I need to settle somewhat of a modelling arguement.

If the model of a human character is going to be rigged and animated (In Maya, but software is irrelevant for the sake of this question) how might it ever make sense to model the character's arms angled slightly down instead of extended straight out to the sides?

I've always figured that having the arms straight out makes binding the character (especially in the case of painting weights in maya) easier with all the points easily accessible - And it's also the middle point between the up and down extremes where the shoulder would either be stretched (down) or creased (up). Although, yeah - Most of the time, our arms are usually below that level for most actions... But then again, most models that I see here are with their arms outstretched.

Is there, by any stretch of the imagination, any advantage to modelling a character with its arms down? If there is some reason why this would be necessary or advantageous, I'm definitely curious...

Thanks,
-Pete

Adam Klein
05-26-2002, 12:21 AM
weell, ease of selecting the points, if angled, then you have no veiw but perspective to grab from,

also, if you model with arms down then it becomes harder to deal with the points in the armpit area

when It comes time to make UV's, arms down/bent would be much more difficult

bone placement in the arms becomes a tad more difficult, because you are dealing with angles instead of laying them right in there, this becomes especially noticable when you get down to the hands, many bones at all these angles

when you get faster you sould just be rippin' down the arms and legs in no time flat, if you need to check for proportion (where's you background image!!!?) just grab the arm and rotate it down,