PDA

View Full Version : Render Elements EXR


naik
01-12-2010, 10:24 AM
Hey guys i know there are some threads about that topic
but i cant get it to work properly.

Simple scene and 5 render elements.
But i want every "pass" in one big EXR.

If i enter the same filename for all render elements
nothing happens.

Pressing the setup button (exr) will give me the option to
add extra channels like ALPHA, OBJECT ID, Z-DEPTh the old stuff
but nothing more...

Also when i set the path blank, MAx renders all render elements
separately....


Am i missing something?

noouch
01-12-2010, 11:51 AM
I don't think render elements are supported in the EXR saver like that, unfortunately. You'd probably have to rely on third-party EXR tools to merge the passes to one file, which is something you might want to consider if you're going to be using the all passes one file EXR approach frequently.

Maybe if I get bored enough I'll write a tool that does only this, since I've wanted to do the same thing as well in the past...

naik
01-12-2010, 11:55 AM
thanks for you comment mate.

Its strange because in some other threads i read that it is possible...

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=6&t=839117&highlight=exr

But its not working for me...
Hmm, it would be a shame if it is not possible in Max 2010 (Design)

cheers

NAIK

j-man
01-12-2010, 01:19 PM
Hi,

I think these guys are getting a little ahead of themselves. Unfortunately Max wont combine render elements into a single EXR without some skullduggery (If I'm wrong about this I would love to hear how < : )

Robin oer at Slide London has written a shader that will do this that you can download from here

http://slidelondon.com/#tools

that you can read about here:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=6&t=745452

and I also wrote a post about using it here:

http://www.just-joshing.com/2009/06/04/slide-shaders/

Josh.

WaltherGropius
01-12-2010, 02:13 PM
Josh - two words - Connection Extension.
To quote Borat : "It's niiiice"

http://slidelondon.com/_forumimages/ConnectionExtensionEXR.jpg

jonadb
01-12-2010, 02:32 PM
The above post is correct, the new EXR stuff is available with the connection extension. (subscription only iirc).

I do alot with EXR for post in AEF, it works like a charm with this new EXR-saver, it even works with backburner! (unlike the old EXR plugin, that needed alot of beating to make it work)

naik
01-12-2010, 02:50 PM
Thank you all guys for enlighten this topic.

Oh man..so that means without a subscription, there is no chance of
doing that...

Because i dont want to implement again a new shader package...

cheers

NAIK

j-man
01-12-2010, 04:07 PM
Ah I'm behind on my reading. Thanks for that Robin, I'm glad I asked as i was tempted just to let this post disapear down the list

Josh.

sconlogue
01-12-2010, 05:15 PM
Thanks Walther, I didn't know that one was up there. I wish Autodesk would send out notices on such things. Or maybe it's just me they're not telling.

dnashj33
01-12-2010, 05:30 PM
The above post is correct, the new EXR stuff is available with the connection extension. (subscription only iirc).

I do alot with EXR for post in AEF, it works like a charm with this new EXR-saver, it even works with backburner! (unlike the old EXR plugin, that needed alot of beating to make it work)Cebas was behind this...
http://www.cebas.com/index.php?pid=news_next&nid=347

If you don't have subscription, it's part of finalRender R3...so that's an option perhaps.

CGTalk Moderation
01-12-2010, 05:30 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.