PDA

View Full Version : When comes GoZ for Windows?


BillyBlue
01-10-2010, 05:57 PM
Hey there,
does anybody knows when GoZ will come for Windows?
- bb

RichardMarklew
01-11-2010, 08:48 PM
When 3.5 for OS X is released.

Richard

plunq
01-12-2010, 04:31 PM
You can find the answer here:
http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showpost.php?p=647137&postcount=375

from Auricks post:

GoZBrush



GoZ is composed of two parts, one is within ZBrush, the other is within the target application. ZBrush 3.5R3 already contains the ZBrush side of GoZ which allows you to...




Export/Import the GoZ file format. This is faster, smaller file size, more reliable and contains much more ZBrush data than OBJ format. So whenever you need to export a file with the intention of importing it back to ZBrush, use GoZ.
GoZ introduced a more reliable way of transferring high res details to an imported mesh, even if the imported mesh has new topology. You can already make use of this in R3. Export a low res of your sculpted mesh , import it in another application, modify the topology and import it back into the same ZBrush tool. You'll be asked if you want to transfer the details to the new mesh, click yes and you'll have your high res details (including PolyPaint) transferred to a new mesh.
Import/export templates. Almost any text-file format can be created with the GoZ import/export templates. See the ZStartup ExportImport templates for examples.


To conclude, GoZ in ZBrush 3.5R3 for Windows and 3.2 for MacOSX are fully functional. What will be added in the future is the part that is associated with each target application. In fact, there is already a Maya part that is included in R3. You can export/import .ma files directly. This allows you to export from ZBrush one .ma file which will include any displacement, texture and normal map that you have assigned to the mesh and when you load this into Maya, the shading network will already be set, including displacement scale and offset, so all you need to do is render it.



You export the low res, modify the low res, import back the low res and ZBrush will auto-subdivide and project your sculpted details. Issues with this may be due to a too-small scan distance value. You need to increase the scan distance (try max dist for a test).



Here is how...


If you mesh has only one sub tool, temporarily append another.
Now you have the "Project Allist" enabled, set it to Max
Hide or delete the temporary tool.
Test it.

BillyBlue
01-12-2010, 09:38 PM
When 3.5 for OS X is released.

Richard

Is there a releasedate?

RichardMarklew
01-12-2010, 10:15 PM
No

Richard

CGTalk Moderation
01-12-2010, 10:15 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.