PDA

View Full Version : New to 3ds

Rookie813
01-08-2010, 02:46 AM
Hello all,

My question is I am new to 3ds Max and I would like your opinion from you so talented individuals out there; on what's the best way to start out.

1. Trying to figure stuff out on my own or do tutorials?
2. A mixture of both?

Many of you people have great skill and I wish all of you the best with whatever you do in life.

Peace,
Rookie 813

camicamirobot
01-09-2010, 06:50 PM
Just do a bunch of tutorials until you build up your skills enough to mess around on your own. Good luck, buddy :D

facedeleted
01-09-2010, 10:23 PM
Hello Rookie 813, I would do the second option, mixing up a bit of both. I'm still very much a rookie myself to Max, but what I did was start out by learning how to model relatively simple objects, like furniture or maybe sporting equipment and that type of stuff. You can go on YouTube and find some tutorials covering that type of material for free just to get a jump on things. Model some simple objects, learn how to apply materials to them even if its only just a few, maybe how to set up some simple lighting, and then from there move on to whatever seems to fall into place. To learn more advanced stuff from there you'll probably want to purchase some books or some video tutorials online. I've found that there are two major approaches to modeling: 'box' modeling and strip modeling. I started out with 'box' modeling and that made it easier for me to start playing around with the more detailed approach of strip modeling. Hope that helps and good luck!

Quipster
01-10-2010, 08:12 AM
Welcome to the world of 3D !!