PDA

View Full Version : Instancer Plug-in


cjberg
01-08-2010, 01:50 AM
I wanted to update the links to the Instancer plug-in:

http://www.cjberg.com/EI/instancer_6_5.zip
http://www.cjberg.com/EI/instancer_6_6.zip
http://www.cjberg.com/EI/instancer_7.zip

Cj

AVTPro
01-13-2010, 08:19 PM
Cool. Thanks.

arketype
01-14-2010, 03:35 PM
Awesome Plug CJ.
Thanks! ;)
Dave

richardjoly
01-14-2010, 09:47 PM
Thanks cj!
Funny little thing!
I'm having trouble getting more than 10 instances with the grass project, please have a look when you find time.
In the cone animation, the offset was animatable and then it refused to do so.
If the numbers are animatable, could we expect a variation in the input (like 20 +-5) in the future?
The cone anim was suppose to go from red to yellow to green, blue and back to red...
It "skipped" colors.
Interesting effects can be accomplished by moving the original group.
Mac Pro 8C 10.6.2 EIAS 701
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/Instancer-grassblade.zip
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/instancer.mov

ediris
01-15-2010, 02:56 AM
Thanks cj!
Funny little thing!
I'm having trouble getting more than 10 instances with the grass project, please have a look when you find time.
In the cone animation, the offset was animatable and then it refused to do so.
If the numbers are animatable, could we expect a variation in the input (like 20 +-5) in the future?
The cone anim was suppose to go from red to yellow to green, blue and back to red...
It "skipped" colors.
Interesting effects can be accomplished by moving the original group.
Mac Pro 8C 10.6.2 EIAS 701
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/Instancer-grassblade.zip
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/instancer.mov
Interesting animation you got going there Richard.
I have never tired these type of animation before, maybe is time to give it another look at.
Thanks,
Edgard

cjberg
01-15-2010, 03:54 AM
Thanks cj!
Funny little thing!
I'm having trouble getting more than 10 instances with the grass project, please have a look when you find time.
In the cone animation, the offset was animatable and then it refused to do so.
If the numbers are animatable, could we expect a variation in the input (like 20 +-5) in the future?
The cone anim was suppose to go from red to yellow to green, blue and back to red...
It "skipped" colors.
Interesting effects can be accomplished by moving the original group.
Mac Pro 8C 10.6.2 EIAS 701
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/Instancer-grassblade.zip
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/instancer.mov

Opened the grass project (same setup), the plug is set to 30 instances... all were there. If you reopen the project file are they there?

IIRC, I do use some preferences, and maybe the settings are getting cached. Or, on the backend, a couple of things have to happen... it creates new channels for all the instances, so if it can not create the channels, it will fail to create the instance of that object.

On the color note, that is very peculiar as I am passing the color info through to the children and not processing the texture info.

If you dont mind, I would like to find out more on the problem so I can recreate and fix it.

Cj

richardjoly
01-15-2010, 05:33 AM
Thank you Edgard.

Cj
Yes the 30 blades are there on me home computer...
I will have to reinstall EI on the new Octo at work. Instancer was not the problem.
On the home Macbook Pro, 10.5.8, when I change let say from 30 to 50 blades, it doesn't show until I restart EI V8.
The color change is OK. :arteest:
I might win an Oscar in the "Short from a foreign country" category... Too cool! :thumbsup:

http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/Instancer2.mov
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/Instancer2.zip

ediris
01-15-2010, 11:22 AM
Thank you Edgard.

Cj
Yes the 30 blades are there on me home computer...
I will have to reinstall EI on the new Octo at work. Instancer was not the problem.
On the home Macbook Pro, 10.5.8, when I change let say from 30 to 50 blades, it doesn't show until I restart EI V8.
The color change is OK. :arteest:
I might win an Oscar in the "Short from a foreign country" category... Too cool! :thumbsup:

http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/Instancer2.mov
http://www.rdnmultimedia.com/eias/Instancer2.zip
:) defentely too cool Award
Edgard

cjberg
01-16-2010, 05:00 PM
Richard, DO me a favor and try the 6.6v of the plug-in... lemme know if that works. It may be that EITG fixed the bug I had to work around for the v7.

Cj

richardjoly
01-18-2010, 01:11 AM
With 6.6 camera will instantly quit upon render but animation works in preview window.

cjberg
01-18-2010, 04:44 AM
Ok, will get the 6.6 code and apply the 7 fix and see if it all comes together... but wont be until I finish this Objective C nightmare I am in (unrelated)

Cj

halfworld
01-18-2010, 09:42 PM
CJ,

What language did you program this in?

I was wondering if it was C or C++, I've been doing a lot of Objective C recently.

It's a great tool by the by,
Ian

richardjoly
01-19-2010, 12:32 AM
By the by?
What the heck does that mean!!!?

Isn't it "Way the by?"... :p

cjberg
01-19-2010, 03:30 AM
The plug-in's are C, iirc... dont believe they are C++...

My current project is C++ and Objective C ... (I hate Objective C)

cjberg
01-30-2010, 04:48 AM
Updated the plug-in...

On my machine with the grassblade project, the instancing works as expected and also renders without issue. Please let me know if you have any problems with this.

http://www.cjberg.com/EI/instancer_7.zip

Sorry it took so long, work has been crazy the last few weeks. Which is a good thing.

Also, the power of the Instancer plug is the ability to have every child be controlled by Xp.

Cj

Burney
01-30-2010, 12:55 PM
Updated the plug-in...

On my machine with the grassblade project, the instancing works as expected and also renders without issue. Please let me know if you have any problems with this.

http://www.cjberg.com/EI/instancer_7.zip

Sorry it took so long, work has been crazy the last few weeks. Which is a good thing.

Also, the power of the Instancer plug is the ability to have every child be controlled by Xp.

Cj

Hi CJ,

The Link is not working.

Burney

cjberg
01-30-2010, 04:29 PM
Hi CJ,

The Link is not working.

Burney

http://www.cjberg.com/EI/Instancer_7.zip

Those darn capital letters...

Cj

Burney
01-30-2010, 06:47 PM
http://www.cjberg.com/EI/Instancer_7.zip

Those darn capital letters...

Cj

Got it. Thank!!!

Burney

Veehoy
01-31-2010, 05:20 PM
Is there a PC version of this?

ReginaldThomasJr
01-31-2010, 10:34 PM
Is there a PC version of this?
Is this just for Mac or is there a PC version included? Sometimes I feel like a stepchild.

cjberg
01-31-2010, 11:12 PM
Is this just for Mac or is there a PC version included? Sometimes I feel like a stepchild.

Sorry you feel like a stepchild, but no there is no PC version... for 2 reasons, I have no way to dev for the PC, and little want to. I am sure if the plug is useful, someone else could port it to the PC.

Cj

ReginaldThomasJr
02-01-2010, 07:14 AM
Sorry you feel like a stepchild, but no there is no PC version... for 2 reasons, I have no way to dev for the PC, and little want to. I am sure if the plug is useful, someone else could port it to the PC.

Cj

LOL! That's o.k., sometimes there are things for the PC that aren't on the Mac. Thanks anyway.

richardjoly
02-02-2010, 02:28 AM
Well, bad news... The link is working but not the plugin...
I thought you could have inverted the PPC and UB version but no. None of them work on my machine. Well, I'm sure it's nothing.
Awaiting news...

cjberg
02-02-2010, 02:44 AM
Well, bad news... The link is working but not the plugin...
I thought you could have inverted the PPC and UB version but no. None of them work on my machine. Well, I'm sure it's nothing.
Awaiting news...

Here is the UB plug directly from my EI Socket's folder:
http://www.cjberg.com/EI/temp_instancer.zip

I have not tested with v8 as I am still v7...

Cj

richardjoly
02-02-2010, 03:05 AM
No go...
I tried again with 6.6 and the project opens in V8 as it used to... Go figure.
I'll try with EIAS7.01 tomorrow at the office.

AVTPro
02-04-2010, 06:38 PM
I have a straight forward project right now where and instancer could be a benefit. I'm going to give this a go for the first time now. Thanks for the update.

AVTPro
02-04-2010, 08:24 PM
This is what I needed. A quick way to do a wall of rectangles for a broadcast spot.

I have a couple of concerns but All'n All the plug is pretty stable and easy to use.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f190/AVTPro/EIInstancer.png

AVTPro
02-14-2010, 08:33 PM
OK. So here few constructive comments I have about the plug.

1. The instance generated from the plug is a solid group and in this case each column of squares must be animated. It would be nice if there were an option that each square could be independent or different grouping orders assigned.

2. If I made one column to have one line of independently animateable column of square, then I could not group that column to the another instancers (instancing and instancer would crash.)

3. The rotation controls for instancing were only on the centeroid. There was no way that I know of to offset the centeriod in the plug so I could make the big arch on the wall. e.i. I could not instance one column, attach to another instance, then offset the rotation off that group to make a wall.

4. Worked perfectly for the floor, solid group, was quick and precise. I did not use on the logo block or the curved back way. It would be awesome if it could instance along a curve with this sample.

This was a quick model I did for a paid client so Instancer was a benefit and help get me started and reduced tedium. I know this plug is new and these are only critiques. Lastly, I was impressed that it exported and the imported the instanced geometry correctly.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f190/AVTPro/AVT_Cube.jpg

cjberg
02-14-2010, 09:06 PM
OK. So here few constructive comments I have about the plug.

1. The instance generated from the plug is a solid group and in this case each column of squares must be animated. It would be nice if there were an option that each square could be independent or different grouping orders assigned.
They are animatable... the plug-in is designed to use XP to control the position/rotation/size of every single instance.

2. If I made one column to have one line of independently animateable column of square, then I could not group that column to the another instancers (instancing and instancer would crash.)

Instance of Instance wont work due to the underpinnings of EI... it would have to calculate 1 plug prior to the other, but it just doest work like that.

3. The rotation controls for instancing were only on the centeroid. There was no way that I know of to offset the centeriod in the plug so I could make the big arch on the wall. e.i. I could not instance one column, attach to another instance, then offset the rotation off that group to make a wall.
Nope, didnt muck with those...

4. Worked perfectly for the floor, solid group, was quick and precise. I did not use on the logo block or the curved back way. It would be awesome if it could instance along a curve with this sample.
Use Xp...

Cj

AVTPro
02-14-2010, 10:20 PM
Thanks for the immediate feedback CJ.

OK use XP to do those things.

This job is done and the plug was very handy.

It's good to know and great to have. Thanks

cjberg
02-15-2010, 01:04 AM
Honestly, I have some great examples of XP scripts to animate Instancer. It's real power is from XP.

If people need, simply ask me with your needs and I can whip out an algorithm to do what is needed. If a lot of people need the help, I can create examples and tutorials. But I will only do this if there are a lot of people wanting to use the plug.(A lot isnt 2)

Cj

ediris
02-15-2010, 02:01 AM
Honestly, I have some great examples of XP scripts to animate Instancer. It's real power is from XP.

If people need, simply ask me with your needs and I can whip out an algorithm to do what is needed. If a lot of people need the help, I can create examples and tutorials. But I will only do this if there are a lot of people wanting to use the plug.(A lot isnt 2)

Cj
What about 3 people? :)
It will be very handy as Alonzo said if the plug could animate along a curve,with my experience in Xp(non existent) i dont see the power of it.
See my example with Mograph, if i could do the same that will be something where i animate a few rectangles along a curve where the rectangles had different scales and the rotation which was controlled by the curve.Which than was instanced as well keeping all the info intact.
http://vimeo.com/5781480
Edgard

cjberg
02-15-2010, 02:49 AM
What about 3 people? :)
It will be very handy as Alonzo said if the plug could animate along a curve,with my experience in Xp(non existent) i dont see the power of it.
See my example with Mograph, if i could do the same that will be something where i animate a few rectangles along a curve where the rectangles had different scales and the rotation which was controlled by the curve.Which than was instanced as well keeping all the info intact.
http://vimeo.com/5781480
Edgard

Would take a significant number, as I really havent had to use animator in years. I spend 99.9% of my time in modelers lately. So I have to take time from other projects to do it.

Even though I cant easily see what is going on in that animation, the Instancer plug was designed to do just that. One thing it can not do is bow and curve, that would have to be animated on the base object.

Cj

ReginaldThomasJr
02-15-2010, 04:09 AM
Thanks for the immediate feedback CJ.

OK use XP to do those things.

This job is done and the plug was very handy.

It's good to know and great to have. Thanks

Could you just have deformed the entire wall, Alonzo? Just curious.

ediris
02-15-2010, 04:38 AM
Could you just have deformed the entire wall, Alonzo? Just curious.
The problem that i found with deformers is the amount of subdivisions one must have.Instead you could use a cylinder and use the cylinder to create each instance per face.Is these possible CJ?

AVTPro
02-15-2010, 03:27 PM
Honestly, I have some great examples of XP scripts to animate Instancer. It's real power is from XP.

If people need, simply ask me with your needs and I can whip out an algorithm to do what is needed. If a lot of people need the help, I can create examples and tutorials. But I will only do this if there are a lot of people wanting to use the plug.(A lot isnt 2)

Cj

This FREAKING ROCKS CJ. Thanks.

Great support.

AVTPro
02-15-2010, 03:52 PM
Could you just have deformed the entire wall, Alonzo? Just curious.


Yes, and good point Reg. Matter of fact, I did use EI Deformer Tools for the modeling the center logo panel cube. I find EIAS deformer tools to have one of the most intuitive interfaces for quickly bulging, tapering, twisting and bending geometry. (insert shameless plug for my Deformer Rig DVD here)

So I rounded the geometry in Maya, and added UVs, then imported into EI for the final deformations. It worked out very nicely. Only problem is exporting geometry out of EI can be frustrating.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f190/AVTPro/cubelogo.jpg

One question, I used UVs on the face for the logo placement. It was excellent because I didn't have to be concerned about the texture projecting through to the backside of the panel. However, the material of panel is refractive glass and I wanted the texture to have matte properties. How can the texture decal use a different material than the surface it is assigned to?

I haven't done this in EIAS in eons, and I believe they changed the interface. I have a thing about not using duplicate geometry for decals or separte surface descriptions. thanks.

Unfortunately Reg, if I deformed a wall of cubes, the cubes would be deformed incrementally as well. They would be slightly trapezoidal. I wanted to keep the integrity of the cube. I just moved the centeroid to create a radius and duplicated with transforms in Maya, then imported in EI via FBX.

CGTalk Moderation
02-15-2010, 03:52 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.