PDA

View Full Version : Building trouble


biggestkid
01-02-2010, 11:13 PM
Hey guys ive hit a little snag making my first building, a desert house. It is a dome-like structure with a door and 4 windows.

This is what i have done so far. The problem is, i dont know how to give the walls any depth. Does anyone know how to do this? As you can see they are about 1 pixel thick, which would not look very realistic as a fly could break through it. (I believe once i give the walls some depth, i should be able to fix the ugly looking windows too)

http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/1046/domehouseprob.th.jpg (http://img5.imageshack.us/i/domehouseprob.jpg/)
(Click to enlarge)

Thanks

Piflik
01-02-2010, 11:52 PM
Use a Shell Modifier...

biggestkid
01-04-2010, 02:50 AM
Ok i tried the shell modifier, and as you can see im getting some pretty funny results.

http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/6417/shellprob.th.jpg (http://img341.imageshack.us/i/shellprob.jpg/)
(Click to enlarge)

Can anyone tell me why this is happening? And what i can do to fix it?

Thanks

Piflik
01-04-2010, 09:19 AM
Never seen that before...;)

Make sure your Mesh is OK and activate the 'Straighten Corners' option in the Shell Modifier...

musashidan
01-04-2010, 11:50 AM
If you look at your stack, you have faces selected in the edit poly mod which are propagating up the stack.Deselect all faces and go back to shell mod.Also,you have an inner and outer thickness in shell mod.You only really need one or the other.

biggestkid
01-05-2010, 10:34 PM
ok yes that worked thank you musashidan

CGTalk Moderation
01-05-2010, 10:34 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.