PDA

View Full Version : how does bit depth look like?

mister3d
01-02-2010, 12:50 AM
Hi guys. I'm bad at maths, but I want to understand the bit depth of am image.
So 8 bits per channel look like 8 digits?
And 10 bits per channel look like 10 digits?
And 24 bits per pixel look like 24 digits correspondingly?

I simply don't know what is the small digit means over the number, I'm simply zero at maths.

scrimski
01-02-2010, 01:02 AM
Usually 8 bit refers to the color depth per channel which is he same like 24 bit for all three together.

mister3d
01-02-2010, 01:08 AM
Usually 8 bit refers to the color depth per channel which is he same like 24 bit for all three together.
Thanks, I read about that, but I don't understand how the bit depth looks visually in numbers. Is it just a row of numbers like 10011001 for a 8-bit per channel?

scrimski
01-02-2010, 01:14 AM
I'm no expert with this, but in my understanding it's like that. There is probably something more involved than just simple binary math, but I don't know in which way(and don't care too much because stuff like this makes my head explode).

S novim godom

sc

mister3d
01-02-2010, 02:10 AM
I'm no expert with this, but in my understanding it's like that. There is probably something more involved than just simple binary math, but I don't know in which way(and don't care too much because stuff like this makes my head explode).

S novim godom

sc

I tebya. :)
As my mate explained to me, it's really that simple as a binary row of 0-1 numbers, simply put (4 digits for 4-bit). But for a mathematical convenience, it has a number+degree representation, where 2 is a binary system, and the degree is how many times we multiply that number by itself to get all possible variants.

noouch
01-02-2010, 02:02 PM
Fixed point will almost always be a positive binary number with the amount of bits specified, like this for an 8-bit channel:

The precision is always fixed.