PDA

View Full Version : Placing my 3D object into a real life video

Jellis100
12-28-2009, 12:01 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm a 3D hobby-ist, completely self taught with Maya and Realflow.......I'm trying to composite my models onto a real life video of the step outside my door, just a simple chrome ball or a ball on fire to learn the technique but it's driving me absolutely mad.

The software I'm using is PFTrack-Maya 2009 Unlimited-Adobe Master Collection CS4.........I've got the camera tracking, the fire rendered against a black background (See photo) All I want to do is the equivalent of 'Background select' in Photoshop and delete the black bits, not really bothered how realistic it looks as I can then play around with it and take it away from there. I can use both After Effects and Premiere Pro, I'm just not sure how to do this.

Many thanks in advance,

Jack.

http://www.perthstreetbikes.com/73387/firei.jpg

danielHinton
12-29-2009, 10:21 AM
Hi Jack,

1. My suggestion is to pick up The Art and Science of Digital Compositing (http://www.digitalcompositing.com/) as it will school you better than I can explain..

2. There's no easy way to do this. Your goal is to "sell the shot" - make something unbelievable look like it's happening, right? Consider the following (by no means exhaustive) list:

- lighting - is the object going to cast shadows/illuminate the background

- colour - is the rendered object going to match the RGB and luminance values of the
background

- reflections - is the rendered object going to have any obvious reflective surfaces - if so you're going to need to get a sample reflection map from the shot so that the object reflects the background

- any other basic interactions between the object and the background - ie are bits falling off the object and onto the ground?