PDA

View Full Version : Short Film: KAIJO

Ibeechu
12-28-2009, 02:38 AM
http://i47.tinypic.com/t9dvy8.jpg

This is a short film I have been working on for several months but, unfortunately, college had forced me to halt production because of the lack of time I had to work on it. I really don't want to just blow through this; I think this short has a really good potential and I want it realized properly.

In summary, the short is about 3 minutes long, roughly (I'll know better once I get an animatic together). It involves 2 characters: a mouse and a robot arm. Without getting into the details too much, it's something that came from an animation class a few months ago while we were working with IK chains and, a week later, mousetraps, and one of my friends mentioned that I should make a little clip of the arm getting caught in the trap. I liked the idea and rather than just do a ten-second clip or whatever, I really thought it could work inside of a few-minute movie.

I'll be doing most of the animation but there are some areas I'd love some collaboration with. I had the whole set built but I decided a few days ago that it sucked. So now I'm redesigning the set to better match the tone of the short. Here's an animation test from last August: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcq3cLVpVjQ
As you can see, the set is terrible (literally almost an exact replica of my kitchen) and so I've been redesigning it and doing some sketches. I have a pretty decent idea of what I want but I can't seem to accomplish it as well as I'd like to with my modeling skills. So here's where I'd love help.

Specifically, what I'm looking for are:
-Concept artist for the robot arm
-Character modelers (to touch up or completely rebuild my mouse design)
-Character riggers (to rig the mouse, hopefully with facial expressions, too. Also, to help rig the new robot arm if I decide to redesign it)