PDA

View Full Version : ai files in ae

PeelMan
12-23-2009, 11:48 PM
Hi,
I am trying to figure out a behavior in ae.
I’m an ae noob so please bare with me.

I have a comp (800x600) with lots of layers.
The background is some psd files/layers blended together.

I have made some small graphic elements in ai.
When I import these elements the whole comp area (800x600) gets affected.
It sort of gets lighter, not only where my graphic is, but the whole comp.
My ai file is clean, no blend modes or other thing going on, that I am aware of.

Can anyone please tell me what I am doing wrong here?

Thanks

Mylenium
12-24-2009, 09:08 AM
Your files are not in the correct color mode/ have different color profiles attached and AE compensates, most likely.

Mylenium

PeelMan
12-25-2009, 12:45 PM
Thanks Mylenium
My ae comp/files are now Adobe RGB 1998, which is what is usually work with in RGB mode.
This made the whole comp darker, which I can compensate with ae’s adjustment tools, but the problem is still there.

If I import a letter size (or A4) ai doc, with just some vectorized small white text elements, do I have to manually create masks in ae for these graphics?

The ”blank” space outside my graphics in the ai file, still makes the comp brighter and ”removes” shadows from other layers.

I have worked with ai since 1988 (first version) and ps since version 2.
So I believe(d) I have a fairly good understanding how to solve problems with these.
Still on CS3, though.

Thanks for any help, and Merry XMas to you all.
p

PeelMan
12-25-2009, 11:32 PM
Thanks Mylenium
My ae comp/files are now Adobe RGB 1998, which is what is usually work with in RGB mode.
This made the whole comp darker, which I can compensate with ae’s adjustment tools, but the problem is still there.

If I import a letter size (or A4) ai doc, with just some vectorized small white text elements, do I have to manually create masks in ae for these graphics?