PDA

View Full Version : newbie could use some tips

acc9340
12-08-2009, 10:20 PM
I am still learning zbrush. I am trying to add a lot of detail to a medium-level piece of Geometry. Here is the bas mesh:

http://www.chartoonz.com/images/cgTalk/01_baseGeo.jpg

I made it in MAYA.

I used a standard brush to block in my detail, then I used the rake to rough out my structure as can be seen here:

http://www.chartoonz.com/images/cgTalk/02_rakedGeo.jpg

Then I hit a wall. I tried smaller and smaller rakes to smooth out my geo but in the end wasn't getting anywhere with it. So I used the smooth brush. I got the following:

http://www.chartoonz.com/images/cgTalk/03_smoothedGeo.jpg

I cannot get a satisfying overall surface smoothness, I cannot get a good feel to the area where the Sterno-mastoids meet the sternum or where the throat meets the sternum. I tried pinching, but the results of that brush were terrible.

Also, I cannot get satisfying wrinkles near the forehead either. I haven't yet done any alpha stencil work, I was hoping could anyone offer any tips before I mess this up?

How can I refine a raked model with smaller rakes?
Should I have used the smooth brush?
How can I get better skin smooth results?
How can I refine the sternum bone area?
How can I make better wrinkles?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

ACC

JookBoxer
12-09-2009, 01:56 AM
For a beginner your face looks pretty good.

Some suggestions since you say you are a beginner.

-If you aren't already using a tablet. Use one. The pressure sensitivity really speeds things up and gives you an extra level of control.

-smoothing can sometimes be slow on higher levels of displacement. If you want to smooth out larger areas faster. Move down in your subdivision level. If you are using 3.5 r3, you can use the stronger smooth tools.