PDA

View Full Version : Online Degrees

GlynDavidson
11-26-2009, 08:36 PM
Hi all

I've been trawling the internet for providers of online degrees in animation/modelling etc but continuously hitting brick walls. Can anybody suggest any good providers? It would be beneficial if it was in the UK but not absolutely necessary I guess, seeing as how it would be an online course.

If not, does anybody have any other ideas of avenues that I could explore.

P.S. I'm a full time teacher which is why I need an online course.

MoisesBonilla
12-01-2009, 08:24 AM
I would try Animation Mentor, its an online animation school taught by industry people that can be taken from anywhere in the world. They are based in California, United States but run everything online, very convenient and flexible for working professionals and people from other countries who don't have access to schools or being too expensive. In the meantime you can also check out animation DVDs or online classes at Gnomon School of Visual Effects, they are based in Hollywood California U.S. Some Books that I would recommend are The Animator's Survival Kit by Richard Williams, The Illusion of Life Disney Animation by Frank Thomas and Ollie Johnston, Character Animation Crash Course! by Eric Goldberg, and the Drawn to Life Series by Walt Stanchfield.

Moises

TCPortfolio
12-11-2009, 05:13 AM
I too am looking for an online program...more in the 3D Generalist area, and not strictly animation. I was intrigued by Full Sail's program, but then I read some reviews and there was more bad than good. And, it was mostly really bad stuff. I need something that is doable for a working guy with a family, but something that is thorough enough to really be helpful, and something that is reputable and will be respected by industry leaders.

Any advice?

fig
12-11-2009, 02:18 PM