PDA

View Full Version : the proper way to aproach a patch model ?

gnjili
11-25-2009, 01:56 PM
Hi, as i am new here ill just start with a short introduction.
I'm a student residing in Belgrade, Serbia.
Currently i am attending a course in modeling in Maya at the Chiron school for 3d.

at the moment we are working with sub-d's and have already finished nurbs.
but still i still have some pieces to finish and i am very keen on completing them properly.
i am stuck on the planing phase of a nurbs model. we are spoused to make a soda can
and i cant figure out how to approach the top part of the can. i started by doing a revolve of the profile curve and then adding geometry and pushing the cv's into place so i could form the details, however i keep getting a abnormal amount of geometry and an unusable can. i tried detaching the top surface and then trying to start a patch model but again i cant get a effective solution because i cant fit it into the base and attain any kind of continuity with the patches and i dont even want to talk about the amount of 5 patches this has got me stuck with (massive head ache ), i hope i will be able to get a screenshot up soon. but i also hope someone could maybe help me out with how to get around this puzzle.

if anyone has any ideas i would be vary grateful , and a thanks in advance would be in place

so thanks in advanced for the input.

oh and sorry bout the English. not the best, but getting there.

KevBoy
11-26-2009, 05:14 PM
I can tell you, that on nurbs, booleans are actually your friend.
If you're trying to sculpt the top using one big surface and adding CVs that will be difficult.

Try making simple separate surfaces and trimming the pieces you don't need.

I'll try giving more advice once the screenshots are up.

Leionaaad
11-26-2009, 06:09 PM
The insets around the hole give you the headaches?
If they do, you can focus on the hole, then build out the cap from there. the thing is, it is very easy to match the cv's to a circle.