PDA

View Full Version : Help with a rig/skin weights

FalineFarwell
11-18-2009, 12:46 AM
Earlier this month I posted asking about some problems I was having with rigging this character and I have gotten nowhere. I am an amateur trying to rig and bind a character, I have watched hours of tutorials and tried many tips from other users and I have gotten nowhere. I have made a rig for the character with all the controls I want but BINDING the character to the rig has been frankly, hell. I really need someone to have a look at the rig for me and maybe do some of the weighting. I hope you all understand I am very frustrated and need some help from the pros. If I ever use this character in an animation I will of course give full credit to whomever helps me out with binding this character.

Thanks and I hope you understand.
If you want to help me, I'll send you a download link to the project file.

http://i637.photobucket.com/albums/uu99/NerfPunk/Untitled-2.jpg?t=1258508911

Darksuit
11-18-2009, 02:42 PM
I can at just a glance see what I would term as 4 problems with the joint structure that would cause you a lot of problems with weighting.

Root is in the Wrong Place. In the attached image you will see an X through the un-needed joint. There is really no reason for this joint to exist, it sould serve No purpose or usefulness.
Change the Clavicle parent to lower on the spine. This create the illusion of a ribcage. While also preventing you from having your rig look like it broke its collarbone. It also saves you on bone counts and reduces fustration in weighting.
Clavicle should be moved out slightly at the moment it looks to be too close to the spine. This is of course one of those things that is often debated about, the best way to do a clavicle joint placement. I stand by the precieved point of rotation. Which is about halfway between the shoulder and the spine.