PDA

View Full Version : T2S illumination shader


Als
11-16-2009, 07:10 AM
Hi,
has anyone figured out what's wrong with T2S (tek2shoot) illumination shader?
Where is that glow coming from?
If you haven't installed this shader, it looks like shader glow is on the maximum,
so all you get is glow.
Switching off post process, or glow shader are sort of solutions,
but not really a good solutions.
Anyone knows some better way?
I was trying quickly to figure out why is there in the first place (as it wasn't there before),
but no luck...
Plus the old presets doesn't seem to work, or old files...

Error: line 0: The T2S_Illumination 'T2S_Illumination1' has no 'S76[0]' attribute.

Thanks


Als

Als
11-16-2009, 08:27 AM
It seems that something is wrong with the mi node.
scalar "FG_Factor", #: default 1.0
scalar "GI_Factor", #: default 1.0
integer "BRDF_MixMode", #: default 0
color "BrdfWeight", #: default 0.5 0.5 0.5
scalar "TintReflections", #: default 0.0 min 0.0 max 1.0
boolean "Bump2Irradiance", #: default 1
integer "OutputMode", # default 1
scalar "Weight_Transluency", # 0.0

two last ones seem to have wrong syntax?
Also there is seed 2, is that right?
When I create shader, the values seem garbled.

Thanks


Als

demoniorojo
11-16-2009, 11:59 AM
Yes! the shader glows in all renders until deactivating export post...

Als
11-16-2009, 12:07 PM
Ok, so it's not only me.
I guess there must be a reason for this, and way to fix it...
Is there a standard parameter for mental ray shaders for glow like in maya?
or a way to force glow_intensity onto this shader?
I've tried through surface shader, it ignores it, which is really not good.
If I pass only color from this shader to surface shader this should work,
as usual it does not...


Als

stephpdl
11-16-2009, 12:46 PM
Hi there,

One way to avoid glow is to switch Glow Type to "none" in the default shaderGlow1 material.
I don't know why this setting is on by default and why it affects the shader.

It's been a while since I last had a look at the sourcecode and the shader was primarily coded for xsi, which doesn't have this default glow node. By the way, hope this helps; if I happen to have a look at the code I'll check why it is affected by the default glow.

Stephane
R&D Manager
Def2Shoot / Tek2Shoot

demoniorojo
11-16-2009, 05:48 PM
Thanks Stephane, this is the only soluction now, turning off glow...and congratulation for your GREAT shader :)

Als
11-17-2009, 01:38 AM
Hi Stephane,

thank you so much for this shader.
It was a bread and butter for me when I was using maya 5.
It would be great to update this shader for maya and include some of those excellent presets from your website.
Where could I find the list of attributes and their default values to compare with the mi file from maya. I guess this would not be an issue, but I'm not using softimage at the moment.
I'm sure you have enough on your plate, so no pressure ;)
Maybe someone else can help

Thanks a lot for your time and concern


Als

stephpdl
11-18-2009, 10:13 AM
It seems that I don't have the same .mi file for the shader declaration.
Do you use the one from pixero ?

can you post your mi so that I can have a look ?

And 2 questions to investigate this : which version of maya are you using ? (and is it x86 or x64 ?)
How did you install the shader ?

this should be enough questions to have a look at your issue.

sevver
11-18-2009, 11:16 AM
hello
any chance linux 64 bit version ? :)

demoniorojo
11-18-2009, 12:45 PM
Hi Stephane, in my case, I use Maya 64, and pixero´s mi doesn´t works with the x64 dll, so we use this mi instead of it.
Thanks

Als
11-18-2009, 03:53 PM
This is the file I'm using, but it's missing

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=5420354&postcount=10

I'm on vista ultimate 64 bit, maya 2008 ext 2 64bit.

As far as I can see it must be a mi file, or maybe script fajl which are wrong.
I'm very very busy at the moment myself, but I can help or test if you want me to...
I'm certain many other people will be more then happy to help as well.
T2s rocks! :buttrock:

Thank you so much!


Al

stephpdl
11-18-2009, 04:39 PM
ok, understood the mix of shader versions and mi.
As soon as I find some time, I'll release a new mi and script ( based on pixero's) for x64 maya shader aligned on the latest release of the shader for xsi.

Thanks for the details.

coccosoids
11-20-2009, 09:39 AM
This is the file I'm using, but it's missing

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=5420354&postcount=10

I'm on vista ultimate 64 bit, maya 2008 ext 2 64bit.

As far as I can see it must be a mi file, or maybe script fajl which are wrong.
I'm very very busy at the moment myself, but I can help or test if you want me to...
I'm certain many other people will be more then happy to help as well.
T2s rocks! :buttrock:

Thank you so much!


Al

Can you upload the x64 version of the shader?

Als
11-20-2009, 11:49 AM
Hi Stephane,
once you finish the new version, could we have the 64 bit version on your site,
or should we ask pixero to host it on their site?
I'm looking forward to new "Terminator" 2 shader ;)

Thanks a million!


Als

ps
to q_vazk:
Please wait just a bit more, read message above yours...

coccosoids
11-20-2009, 12:33 PM
ps
to q_vazk:
Please wait just a bit more, read message above yours...

Thank you als for brooming the dirt off of mine eyes...
*patience mode on

demoniorojo
11-21-2009, 12:57 AM
Great news Stephane!! :) thanks again!

CGTalk Moderation
11-21-2009, 12:57 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.