PDA

View Full Version : Accredited on line schools/USA

paintgirl
11-06-2009, 01:18 PM
Hi All...
I have been considering starting over with a career move into Animation/VFX and have been researching on line schools. I am particularly intrigued with matte painting, compositing and realistic creature animation. I am in my late 40's and have studied unrelated fields (industrial design, theatre arts, fine arts) and have been employed as a scenic artist/designer in theatre. HOWEVER...I do not have any computer background with the exception of some self-taught cut and paste work in photoshop; oh...I am also a MAC and have NO PC experience.

At this stage of my life I feel that if I were to return to school, I should be working toward an MFA but possibly that is an unrealistic desire considering the complexity of CGI. I have been in contact with the Academy of Art University in SF concerning their MFA in Animation and Visual Effects but I found their price of tuition to be OBSCENE, although they do offer a BFA.

I have also investigated the ART Institute of Pittsburgh but was not overly impressed; plus they took issue with the Mac.

Gnomon's website is impressive but I find it hard to believe that what few courses they offer on line would be sufficient to produce thorough training in the field.

What other on line programs are available and how do they rank as far as accreditation and quality of graduate? With my art and design background should I circumvent the more traditional degreed programs and opt for certificate courses? What program produces the most sought after graduate?

Any and all recommendations will be greatly appreciated!

sutterkain
11-14-2009, 04:47 AM