PDA

View Full Version : Perth, WA?

Greenham
10-30-2009, 02:32 PM
Hey guys,

I would be interested to know if there is anyone from Perth, Western Australia about?

Greenham.

R10k
10-30-2009, 05:22 PM
Yep, I'm in Perth. There are a few others I've seen around also.

Greenham
10-31-2009, 07:31 AM
Awesome. :)

Would you happen to know whether the other forum members are hobbyist, amateur artists or professional digital artists?

Personally, I'm a student who pursues digital art in my free time as a hobby.

I just want to get an indication of what the digital art "scene" is like in Perth, really.

R10k
10-31-2009, 10:37 AM
Would you happen to know whether the other forum members are hobbyist, amateur artists or professional digital artists?

I think most I've seen have been hobbyists, but it's hard to tell when people lack profiles, or simply aren't interested in telling the world what they do :)

PorkpieSamurai
11-01-2009, 12:33 AM
im from Perth. I studied and worked there before moving to Vancouver. I met some cool
people there who have gone on to work at awesome studios like Blur and Animal Logic and im at CIS working in film. Its hard to get established there which is why you need to move to launch your career in my opinion and the education institutions aren't too great either.

HeadSmell
11-01-2009, 08:55 AM
mmm lol i don't really think there's a digital art scene that I've seen

R10k
11-01-2009, 02:36 PM
Its hard to get established there which is why you need to move to launch your career in my opinion and the education institutions aren't too great either.

I guess that depends on what your career is. The best digital education seems to be online these days, so... there are a few reasons why sticking around in Perth isn't a career killer.

mmm lol i don't really think there's a digital art scene that I've seen

I've seen a few Lastpixel guys at the odd Siggraph meeting, talking about what they do... isn't that the scene? :)

HeadSmell
11-02-2009, 01:49 AM