PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Fillet Blend Tool in Maya -Modeling


Claudelee
10-28-2009, 09:17 PM
Hey cgsociety users,

I tried all the afternoon without success to resolve a problem with the Fillet Blend Tool.. :banghead:
Basically, I have nurbs surfaces that I try to join together using the fillet blend tool. The result is always completely random. Even if I reverse right/left, uncheck auto/Normal.. Can't have the result I'm looking for!

It might be easier with pictures:
That's what I'm trying to achieve:
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/3854/screenshot20091028at194.th.jpg (http://img267.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20091028at194.jpg/)
That's my nurbs surfaces:
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/5151/screenshot20091028at193.th.jpg (http://img264.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20091028at193.jpg/)
That's my best result so far:
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/3854/screenshot20091028at194.th.jpg (http://img406.imageshack.us/i/screenshot20091028at194.jpg/)


here's the Maya file : http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=f9190c95252f09d4e62ea590dc5e5dbbe04e75f6e8ebb871

Is there someone that could help me with this? Thanks!!

Claudelee
11-01-2009, 12:40 PM
no one? :(

phix314
11-01-2009, 08:40 PM
Could be a variety of things. Are your surface normals all facing the right direction?

harywilke
11-02-2009, 01:14 AM
couple of ideas, instead of trying to do it all in one step, break it down into a few simpler steps. this could be accomplished with a few bevels and a loft.
Also clear out your history when your struggling on some tool not working as expected. make things as easy as possible for maya.

CGTalk Moderation
11-02-2009, 01:14 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.