PDA

View Full Version : Maya 2010 - nParticles evaluation problem ?


Ourouk
10-28-2009, 04:57 PM
Hi,

I just came to test maya2010 at work.
I am using nParticles for a shot. In Maya 2009, you could hide the nParticles, it was still evaluated ( instances on the nParticles will show). I think nucleus was doing it's job even if nParticles was hidden.

In 2010, hiding the nParticles will no more evaluate them...

Is this a bug ? or is this a new super-feature included in the most famous cg package in the world :/ ?
Anyway, it's not documented anywhere...

any idea ?
thanks

Cheesestraws
10-28-2009, 05:23 PM
Sounds like that is probably meant to be the expected behaviour and that it was merely a bug in 2009.

djhush
10-28-2009, 05:24 PM
This is what's in the help meny, so yeah, I guess it's new in maya 2010.


"Hiding nParticle objects

If your scene has more than one Nucleus object connected to the same Nucleus solver, there can be situations when you want to hide one or more of these objects. For example, you may want to hide an nParticle object to reduce the simulation time of an nCloth object that is connected to the same Nucleus solver as the nParticles. To hide the nParticles object so that it does not simulate, use one of the following object hiding methods:



Select the nParticle object then select Display > Hide > Selected.
In the Object Display section of the nParticleShape node Attribute Editor, turn off Visibility.
If you use one of these methods to hide the nParticle, Maya treats the object as if its nParticleShape node's Enable attribute is turned off. You cannot get the same results by hiding an nParticle object using other methods including the following:



Turning off Show nParticles in the current panel by selecting Show > nParticles from Panel menu (to clear the Show option).
Adding an nParticle object to a Display Layer, then turning Visible off on the Display Layer. See Display Layer editor (file:///C:/Program%20Files/Autodesk/Maya2010/docs/Maya2010/en_US/files/Basics_Windows_and_Editors_Display_Layer_editor.htm).
In these cases, if another Nucleus object is drawn or evaluated in the scene, the nParticle object can still be partially simulated."




//Anders

Ourouk
10-28-2009, 05:30 PM
djhush : Where did u find this in the help ? I couldn't find it...

Cheesestraws : perhaps...but I would admit, if it was a bug, it was helpfull not to display nParticles...while looking at the instances...

thanks...

djhush
10-28-2009, 05:53 PM
Hi Ourouk

User Guide (file:///C:/Program%20Files/Autodesk/Maya2010/docs/Maya2010/en_US/files/WS73099cc142f48755-4bc38c931187aa80bc9-32a9.htm) > Dynamics and Effects (file:///C:/Program%20Files/Autodesk/Maya2010/docs/Maya2010/en_US/files/WS73099cc142f48755-4bc38c931187aa80bc9-32b2.htm) > nDynamics (file:///C:/Program%20Files/Autodesk/Maya2010/docs/Maya2010/en_US/files/WS73099cc142f48755602caf041189da6b6082747.htm) > nParticles (file:///C:/Program%20Files/Autodesk/Maya2010/docs/Maya2010/en_US/files/WS73099cc142f48755602caf041189da6b6082746.htm) > nParticles overview (file:///C:/Program%20Files/Autodesk/Maya2010/docs/Maya2010/en_US/files/WS1a9193826455f5ff-6d855556117e9f816d232fb.htm) >

I was just sitting and doing some help cruising ;-), looking for different workarounds in variuos situations. Mayas help kinda sucks bigtime (compared to for instance Max), but I think they are doing something about it.

I found that it can be worth it to do some help cruising every once and a while.

djhush
10-28-2009, 06:13 PM
By the way.

If you cache the particles and then hide them, the instances will continue to work.

Ourouk
10-29-2009, 11:17 PM
yeah sure, I can cache....but I like to tweak my dynamics and see directly the result instead of caching THEN see the result...u see ? less steps ;)

by the way, I agree help cruising is helpful sometimes...

CGTalk Moderation
10-29-2009, 11:17 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.