PDA

View Full Version : Realistic Flames within Maya Fluids

VTeixeira
10-27-2009, 10:11 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm trying to create realistic within Maya for my master thesis animation project.
I've already taken a look at the DVD's from David, gnomon, and I'm studying right now the Maya fluids examples.
Based on the turbulent flame I'm having some nice results in shapes but the color and the detail are bothering me. Even if I increase the resolution or the shading quality I'm not having more detail.
I now that in compositing I can work a little bit more the fluid but what I'm I missing besides experience? Do I need more emitters and create more interaction?
In the turbulent flame there's no texture applied, his this one of the problems?
Sorry for so many questions.
I have this example that I'm trying to follow:

http://www.rsp.com.au/portfolio/flv/hp4Flv.htm

Thanks a lot for any type of help.
Cheers

mandark1011
10-27-2009, 10:21 PM
first thing is the examples from the movie you are trying to emulate are from Double Negative which has built its own proprietary software because of the short comings in fluid sims in other software packages.

Ive heard of a lot of examples where they have used maya fluids to drive the behavior then rendered in houdini.

also ive heard a lot of people augment their maya fluids fire with practical elements in post.

super realistic fire is still one of those bench mark effects.

good luck

apoc519
10-27-2009, 11:18 PM
I usually add some high frequency texture with grid speed at 1. Its definitely an improvement over the visor examples

VTeixeira
10-28-2009, 03:31 AM
One of my main difficulties it's when i'm raising the resolution, the rest of the parameters have to follow but thats with a lot try and error...

Phlok
10-28-2009, 11:24 AM