PDA

View Full Version : Maya Shader? Modeling


czukoman20
10-27-2009, 03:20 AM
Hi all.. i am new to these forums, and I am new to autodesk maya. I've been searching for the last hour as to how to get rid of this problem.

I believe the proper term is shader groups, but I am not sure.
Here is a pic of the issue.
http://zukodesign.com/1.jpg
I think you guys can easily see what I am talking about in that pic.

Help is much appreciated, thanks.

Revon
10-27-2009, 06:18 AM
Just a wild guess, but select the outer edge of that polygon and go to Normals -> Harden Edge.

jfrancis
10-27-2009, 06:32 AM
Looks like the normals at 2 of the corners somehow got reversed.

I'd blow the polygon away and re-add it with the append polygon tool.

Revon
10-27-2009, 08:53 AM
I was able to reproduce the glitch, check if you have accidentally extruded a single edge on the inside corner. Extra face there will cause this kind of problem.

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/9324/edgeextrusionglitchq.jpg

CGTalk Moderation
10-27-2009, 08:53 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.