PDA

View Full Version : Building a computer...

herkPRIME
10-26-2009, 04:41 AM
Ok, i have a question for all you hardened vets. I need to build a new workstation. I'm thinking and i7 processor (975 perhaps, maybe lower, but i want this to be a computer i can hold on to for a while). I'll cram a ton of RAM in there. But should i go all out on a quadro 4800 graphics card? Or can i get by with a consumer grade GFX card, one used more for gaming. Read on so you'll know how to answer. Please stick with me.

I'm a 2d animation professional (storyboards, director, producer), but because I've been drawing on paper i've lagged behind in pretty much all the technical advancements of the past 10 years. And now i've got 3 separate possible projects ahead of me that i'll be in charge of, all CG...

So, i'm gonna start teaching myself, and taking classes when i can, in photoshop, painter, maya, and so forth (suggestions on what programs to learn welcome). I'm not a luddite, I'm fairly technically savvy, and a decent artist, but I'm pretty new all these programs. I know, its crazy. But i really have been a pencil, pen, and paper guy for a LONG time. Photoshop is still in the "advanced-novice" phase of learning for me.

I'm really excited to open my artistic career to this new phase of CG. The truth is, i love gaming as well, and i've read the quadro's aren't really used for that. BUt, I may be ok sticking with my consols for the games and making my CPU really only a workstation. In which case, maybe i shouldn't consider a gaming card. SO...

WHAT SHOULD I DO???? This will be for my home studio, and since i'm a novice of course i won't churning out a ton of fully rendered 3D stuff, YET. I'm imagining that i'll be doing more digital painting than CG animation, but that may change as i learn and do more. AND i want this to be fairly future proof (haha, i know). I haven't worked out a full budget yet, but i'm not looking for a budget system. I'd like it to be fairly robust.