PDA

View Full Version : What qualifications are needed for being a good animator?

UKing
10-24-2009, 02:24 PM
Hi, there. I am a student interesting in character animation. And I want to be a good animator one day. So far I mainly improve myself through tutorials from Internet, which in my opinion are mostly related to technical skills. Currently I have one question in my mind and I need to find someone answer it for me, that is if one day you can master these technical skills learned from tutorials, what else should be acquired to improve yourself further, I mean to animate better.

So my question is that: In you opinion, what qualifications are needed for being a good animator?

Until now I have some ideas that maybe in order to animate well, you firstly need to know some physical knowledge to make your animation believable. And then you are supposed to learn something about performance skill to endow your characters with some human personalities.

I donít know whether I am on the right track. So your help is important for me and any advice is appreciated.

By the way, I am planning to apply a master program on animation in USA and wish to learn a lot about animation from college besides those technical stuffs. Do you think my plan is practical?

Appreciate your time. Thanks.

robcat2075
10-24-2009, 08:44 PM
-great patience
-ability to remain focused on task
-strong observation skills
-being able to use printed resources like manuals (still important in using CG software)
-ability to follow direction (99% of animation work is on someone else's vision, not yours)

I'm sure others will add to this

By the way, I am planning to apply a master program on animation in USA and wish to learn a lot about animation from college besides those technical stuffs. Do you think my plan is practical? I'm very doubtful that an advanced degree would be superior to having spent the time on real work experiences.