PDA

View Full Version : My first ever demoreel

JaredTaylor
10-24-2009, 03:59 AM
I'd love some criticism on what is my first ever demoreel. It mainly focuses on character design.

About me: I'm a hobbyist, keen on learning animation (and only just started yesterday), and have spent a couple of years on and off learning modeling. I still can't texture or rig very well at all. Thinking about doing a 3 year course in animation in 2010.

http://www.vimeo.com/7229841

colus
10-24-2009, 07:30 PM
Its very hard commenting on a first (ever) demo reel. First off, its great that youre working on your hobby and keeping at it. If youre considering going to study animation the choice will come up soon whether you want to make that hobby into a professional career. Its a big choice but whatever you decide I wish you the best.

On the reel:
A demo reel is exactly this; to show off what you can do in a specific discipline. So you have to show people what you did and not tell them. I would suggest that instead of having a still image up saying this character has 60 blendshapes, show us. Have a clip of the facial animation in action.

I cant crit your animation because you only started yesterday :) I can say that animation is the most time consuming, frustrating thing you can ever do...but man the rewards are unbelievable. Ive loved every second of it.

Keep us updated on your progresses :thumbsup:

Colus.

JaredTaylor
10-24-2009, 10:05 PM
That's some really helpful advice, thank you for the kind words :bounce:

Even after posting it I decided I didn't like my reel at all. And I broke it back down into separate parts - I just need a portfolio not a reel, and at the school I'm not just sending it to them, I'm going there and showing them, so I can talk about each part separately and explain my intentions and the possibilities.