PDA

View Full Version : A quick question about modeling in 3Ds...

Quipster
10-21-2009, 04:44 PM
Hello guys.

I've been using Max a while, and while I wouldn't say I'm a great artist, I think I have a pretty good grasp of it.

My question is... How would you go about creating a shape like a sphere with a torus through it... Like, for example, the knob for setting the time on a pocket watch... At the moment, I would simply create a sphere, and a torus, and have them intersect... With some geometry of the torus being covered by the sphere, however I know there is a better way.

Also, if I had an object like this... Is there a way to make it appear like there is a weld (or just a curve in the corner) where the objects intersect ? I haven't been able to find a tutorial on this, so if anyone knows how, or has a tutorial for this, please let me know ! Much appreciated...

Quip

HHH316
10-21-2009, 05:40 PM
Hi

Not to sure if I understand your question but try the Boolean function in 3dsmax and where the two intersect you can select those edges and chamfer them to make a weld effect.

Revon
10-21-2009, 05:58 PM
Create sphere and torus as separate objects and move torus into position where you want it. Delete the faces you don't need and, also leave enough room at the position where objects intersect to create smooth seam. Combine two meshes into a single object at this point. Now count how many edges there are at the end of your torus, because you'll now delete some of the faces on sphere to create a whole and in order for "Bridge" to work, edges need to match. If you have 8 edges, delete 4 faces and use Bridge to connect them. At this point it's just a matter of shaping it and getting it to look right, camfer will help a lot.

HHH316
10-21-2009, 09:24 PM
I'm back

STEP 1. Use boolean tool in max. Choose union option under boolean

STEP 2. Convert to editable poly after boolean. Select row of edges where the two joined.

STEP 3. Chamfer the edges to create a weld effect.