PDA

View Full Version : How would I model this?

Junkie Inc.
10-20-2009, 07:30 AM
Currently in the process of modelling a warhammer 40k boltgun in Maya unlimited. What would be the best way to model the grip of the weapon ( with the grooves in it).

Thanks

Junkie Inc.

IronWarrior
10-20-2009, 03:44 PM
Poly modelling with a sub-D...which is essentially just placing every poly by hand using edge-extrusion, creating a blocky shape of the grip. Then apply some sort of Sub-D (probably called MeshSmooth or something...I use 3ds max) that divides the polies and smooths it out.

Junkie Inc.
10-21-2009, 12:31 PM
Many thanks

I'll try this and see what results I get

Cheers

Junkie Inc.

winznut
10-27-2009, 05:35 PM
Hi,

I'm currently working on the same bolter and used turbosmooth for the grip.
Since I'm a beginner myself, I have no idea if it can be done better...

Junkie Inc.
10-29-2009, 09:47 AM
That actually helps alot but it was the other grip that I was having the problem with. I hadn't started that part of it but yours will give me a big hand up with that part. Do you have any pics of the grip under the main barrel.

Thanks again

Junkie Inc.

winznut
10-29-2009, 05:40 PM
Hey,

just finished the bolter yesterday, but I ended up with 13,5k polys.
Guess that's a little to much for such a small item...

Anyways, don't know if it helps, but here is a pic of the grip.

Edit: The upload didn't works, here is a link: http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/6426/bolter2.jpg (http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/6426/bolter2.jpg)

Junkie Inc.
10-30-2009, 08:46 AM
Thanks for the upload this helps alot.