PDA

View Full Version : Bearer of the Fruit

Gungrand
10-14-2009, 06:44 PM
Updated image.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v67/NCross1983/Artwork/beareroffruitxvicopy.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v67/NCross1983/Artwork/beareroffruitxii.jpg

Hello, I am very new to digital art, and photoshop as well.
I have some background in oil painting, but mostly just sketching with ball point pens.
As this was a learning exercise with photoshop cs2 and a fujitsu tablet with wacom drivers, I just used an old famous photograph for reference and inspiration. I was unable to find the original photographer to give him credit, as the photo has been circulating emails since before 2003 with attached on myths as to what the image is actually of. My apologies regarding that.
I am considering this piece half way done at this point.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v67/NCross1983/Artwork/beareroffruit-1.jpg

I need to refine the clouds.
refine the ocean.
I'm debating as to whether or not I should extend the grass to cover the entire deck.
add small man made structures, possibly yurts on the grass
training soldiers
livestock
fallen leaves,
details to the outside of boat
etc...

the list goes on, but I'm just wondering if i cant get a few opinions/directions on it thus far.

Gungrand
10-15-2009, 03:30 PM
by the time this got approved it was almost off the front page :(

anywho, here it is :P

DArcy1
10-16-2009, 12:54 AM
Hi and welcome !

I like this so far; so just a few comments:
You have a scale problem with that tree, with the level of detail you have it looks like an ordinary sized tree on a veeerryyy small oil tanker. you'd never be able to see leaves on a tree from this distance. So either really ramp up the detail (e.g how much the branches subdivide), or go for a small forest that you can scale effectively with the other nature elements.