PDA

View Full Version : Extrude Section

ausietas
10-14-2009, 04:50 PM
Hi you all!

I'm quite new in Rhino and so in this Forum, so hi everyone first!

I belong to the architecture branch and I guess my question can sound a bit silly when compared with the complex modelling I've seen around, but here it goes...

I'm building a 3D structure and I've got already the axis. Through these I'd like to extrude some sections, which I've already got properly placed. The problem is that when I try to "extrude surface" -the section of the beam- it doesn't turn with the axis (which is curved) and has the same orientation on both ends of the axis. file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Ausietas/Mis%20documentos/Dibujo/Rhino/Foros/3D%20beam.jpgPlus, the section should decrease in size, so with "array along curve" I've made the end section a bit smaller than the beggining section.

I've tried and managed more or less by making each single face with the "sweep 1 rail" tool, but as there are many beams to be built, if there was a faster method that'd be great. I imagine that if I could extrude properly along the axis and then modify the ending section of the beam, that might work.

I don't know how it works but if I learn how I'll upload some screenshots so that you see what I mean.

Cheers and thanks!
Ausietas

conio
10-16-2009, 07:22 AM
Scrrenshots would be helpful, as I cannot really imagine what you're looking for...

ausietas
10-21-2009, 02:19 PM
Hi there, I tried to leave some screenshots but I can't, I don't know how to do that (and I'v been trying a while) but I'll keep trying.

Thanks anyway!

ausietas
10-21-2009, 02:39 PM
hi, I know it sounds fool, but I have no idea how to attach an image, I only get to attach something already uploaded somewhere else, ain't it possible to upload some pics from my computer?
sorry for my bloodyness and cheers!

biggestkid
10-21-2009, 09:40 PM