PDA

View Full Version : attaching vs. cutting out


winznut
10-13-2009, 02:07 PM
Hey,

just a quick basic question:

Let's say, I have the hull of a space ship and I want to model some details to it, a door for example.

Would it be better to cut it out of the hull, or can I simply take another box, model the door form it and then push it right into the modell and use attach (in 3ds)?

That seems to be easier to me...


Thanks,
Oliver

scrimski
10-13-2009, 02:48 PM
Whatever works fast and easy is right.

Just attaching without cutting may cause problems when rendering, especially faces overlap at very tiny angles, but doesnt have to.

winznut
10-13-2009, 03:08 PM
Ah, alright.

I thought it might have to do with texturing, which I haven't learned yet.

Thanks for the quick reply!

CGTalk Moderation
10-13-2009, 03:08 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.