PDA

View Full Version : nCloth cache randomly ceases to function?


jorx
10-11-2009, 11:05 PM
Hi everybody,

I'm really struggling with a problem at the moment where the nCloth cache suddenly ceases functioning. It seems irreversible- nothing I do seems to get it to work again. ( I have to revert to previous incremental saves)

Anyone else had this problem?

HowardM
10-12-2009, 10:53 AM
just reapply using Attach Existing cache...

Phlok
10-12-2009, 10:59 AM
Are you using Maya 2009 nCache? Recently I have experienced just the same...
Try not to use any pathnames (full path) that are exceeding 128 (or was it 256...not sure atm) characters.

jorx
10-12-2009, 07:57 PM
Thanks to know guys! I've worked with Maya full time for two years- yet it seems like I've barely scratched the surface sometimes!

In my case I seemed to fix it by reducing the scale of my ncache- because I was setting initial state of ncloth that was attached to another moving one, with the moving one I set the nCache scale to 10,000 to slow it down- reducing that number helped. Guess it was just too much for maya ;)

If it happens again, I will try your suggestions, thank you very much!

CGTalk Moderation
10-12-2009, 07:57 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.