PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Card Upgrade

ItsKarma
10-11-2009, 05:48 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first post.. new to the forums and looking for some help with video cards.

I am a recent college graduate currently looking for a job in the cg industry. Till then I would like to continue learning new things and building my portfolio/demo. With that said I do not have much money to put down on a new computer...

Im looking to upgrade the video card on my current computer, I have been looking at a few and hopefully someone can help me choose. Im looking to use this for Maya (mostly), and the adobe suite products.

I understand its not the greatest computer to begin with, and I would probably by much better just buying a new one. (and I would if i had the money) but right now I cant afford it.

My current setup (and what got me through school) Is:
Dell Dimension 3000
Windows XP
2GB RAM
Intel pentium 4, 3.(some) ghz processor
560w Power supply
(currently) 128mb ATI Radion Video Card (forgot the model number)
3x PCI SLOTS

... thats my setup. And it did me okay through school (maya crashed A LOT!). But now im trying some more advanced stuff and my computer just cant handle it... I have to assume its the video card thats the majority of my problems.

I was looking at possibly 2 cards:

Card 1
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=4824267&sku=E145-9405&srkey=E145-9405

Card 2
actually... any other card in that price range. (< $100)
Keep in mind must be PCI.. I do not have AGP or PCI-E

I have been kinda skeptical about the 1gb card being so cheap... but on the other hand, its 1GB for pci... that seems pretty good to me.

I have been thinking that maybe a higher clocked 512 card for about the same price might do me better but im not that great when it comes to the hardware of a graphics card.