PDA

View Full Version : Not so smart question about CG C from Nvidia ....

Jamaludin
08-12-2003, 10:19 PM
Hello guys,

well I am very new in this well area to call it that way, I just had some questions that if answered would make me very happy :scream:

I just read the topic Cg c from Nvidia and I was already busy with well doing research and trying to learn and learn as much as possible about everything that has to do with well making games to call it so. I was thinking then is this Cg C alone sufficient for making a stand alone game or is this language only for programming the graphical side of a game and not the rest. Thus do I need another tool/application/SDK or what so ever to implement things made with Cg C to make a standalone game or something like it ?

So what do these things really mean. Im sorry to post something like this here but im so eager to learn and things are already getting confusing from this point :eek: It would be great if someone was willing to help me out in any way. In advance thanks allot !! :blush:

shrimp_chip
08-12-2003, 10:33 PM
cg is much less than you were hoping it would be.

It only handles a very small portion of the graphics part of a game.

You still need to write the game itself, including most of the graphics code, in some other language.

As a beginner, you might want to check out the language Dark Basic -- http://www.darkbasic.com/ . Dark basic is designed to make it very easy to write video games.

Jamaludin
08-12-2003, 10:36 PM